Skip to content

Portaits of Randomers

November 7, 2008

I haven’t been posting much lately, because I was completely obsessed with the elections in the US.  Every time I turned on my computer I ended up watching news clips or SNL skits. Now that I can breathe normally again,here’s what I’ve been working on.  I’ve started a series of portaits – people I don’t know, photographed at random.

I was going to add detail to this figure, but finally I decided to just add the background and leave it as it is – I kind of like the slightly abstract quality. This is quite large – full imperial size (30×22″).

And here’s the way I left another one (same size) late yesterday afternoon.  Sometimes, when I’m stuck (I rubbed out the eyes at least 4 times)  it seems best to walk away for awhile.  I hope I can finish it later today, but I never know if a particular painting will ever work out.  I’ve added some gouache to the watercolor here, and I may even add some charcoal later.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. joansandfordcook permalink
    November 7, 2008 3:41 pm

    Good to see your portrait work. Think the lady is excellent.
    Brave of you to agree to another flying pages project. What subject will this be?? Must be great to have a full book all your own now.Thanks for the slide show.

  2. November 7, 2008 5:17 pm

    You know what a fan I am of these portraits, Casey – I love the mystery of the man and your woman is stunning. Do I feel an exhibition coming on? You really have the makings of a great show.

    Wonderful result in your elections. I really wish I could have said ‘I voted’.

  3. November 7, 2008 8:24 pm

    What a great project – I look forward to seeing these randomers – if I remember the expression correctly. I agree with the previous comments – lovely work, especially the woman.

  4. November 8, 2008 1:14 am

    Hey, I really like these and you can probably guess that I lean towards the less-is-more school. I prefer the unfinished to the overworked any day of the week. Love the woman’s portrait at bottom. I can see some charcoal… If you do add more, I hope we get to see it.

  5. November 8, 2008 3:26 am

    Your portraits are really beautiful.

  6. November 9, 2008 9:04 am

    How beautiful. I too got completely addicted to the elections, and am looking for something to replace them. Love your colours, and the way the man’s hands fade into the background. You’re doing really wonderful stuff these days.

  7. November 10, 2008 4:21 am

    Wow Casey, These are nice. I like the mystery of not seeing the finished eyes … but please share this with us if you finish it. Again, wow.

  8. November 11, 2008 6:21 am

    Beautiful! I love the moodiness of these! They’re stunning! Great job, Casey!

  9. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    November 13, 2008 12:01 am

    Good job! It is good to walk away when you get stuck. Things usually look better when you return.

  10. November 14, 2008 2:30 pm

    this is an exciting project Casey, they both look great as they are, with nice atmosphere!
    ronell

  11. November 16, 2008 6:01 pm

    This is exciting! I too am creeping into a project of sorts from my images of my trip to Guatemala. And like you, I’m thinking of doing some abstracts. I keep going back to my desire to express in form and color. I like working large and find it more ‘freeing’ if that makes sense. You do such beautiful work, it would be great to see a project like this come to fruition!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

