Skip to content

Sketching Lying Down

October 13, 2008

Last week, I threw my back out.  I went over to my studio, but couldn’t get comfortable standing or sitting, so while lying on the couch I grabbed a pencil and sketched a couple of things that happened to be in my line of vision.  Here they are – can you see the pain in that line?

I recovered quickly, by the way, thanks to muscle relaxors and inactivity…

On another note, the Flying Pictures sketchbook exchange project is coming to a close.  I’ve just finished the final entry in Nina’s sketchbook.  I would encourage everyone to participate in sketchbook exchanges – it stretches you in new ways, and it’s just so much fun to interact with other artists in this way.  Ours had the added dimension of being hand made accordian sketchbooks – we each added our own paper as the sketchbook came to us,which adds to the variety in the work.  I’m hoping to do another one before too long. If you’re interested in doing anything like this, have a look at the Flying Pictures blog.  I think you’ll enjoy the variety of work.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. flyingpictures permalink
    October 13, 2008 11:32 am

    I’m glad you are feeling better – yes it WAS fun :>) and it’s so sad it’s coming to an end :>(

    Vivien

  2. October 13, 2008 2:32 pm

    What a unique view on life so to say. So happy you are feeling better!!

  3. annie permalink
    October 13, 2008 4:01 pm

    So sorry about that back. In our family, backs are iffy things. At one point
    I wished that they made typewriters one could use lying down– anything so that I could feel useful. You’ve solved that frustration for yourself by sketching so beautifully. Now I’ll have to try that. Always an inspiration, Casey–yes you are!

  4. sandy permalink
    October 13, 2008 4:42 pm

    Wow what an artist, working through the Pain – fun sketches and so glad you recovered quickly!

  5. October 13, 2008 5:12 pm

    Well done on these backlying sketches! Mmm, I think you were having too much fun in the yoga class? Just joking, hope you’re up for art tomorrow…you can use the couch again?
    Ronell

  6. October 13, 2008 8:48 pm

    Very very good this pencil. Especially the first.

  7. October 13, 2008 9:46 pm

    Just goes to show–the healing properties of art, eh?!

    Lovely images, Casey! Glad to hear your back is better again–I only had back problems once in my life and I hope I never do again.

  8. October 14, 2008 12:59 am

    Wonderful sketches of Manhattan and of New Jersey – I can just hear the water. Glad you had a good time and that your back is in shape again – drugs can really help!

  9. lindsay816 permalink
    October 14, 2008 12:44 pm

    I hope you are feeling better! Back issues are such a hinderence! Your portrait below is just stunning…
    And I hope we start a new project in the new year. It was so much fun that I’m going to miss this very much.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

