Skip to content

On the Beach..

October 3, 2008

In New Jersey, in September.  It’s a wonderful place to be, and I wish I’d been able to stay a bit longer.  We had  a couple of days of beautiful sunshine, with a slight chill in the air.  Perfect weather in my book, although we never did put our bathing suits on.

As you can see, these are just quick impressions.  Most of them are from the beach in Monmouth Beach,NJ, but the first two were done in Ocean Grove, on an overcast day.  My husband fell in love with Ocean Grove, with its adorable, tiny houses and gardens, and quirky 1950s atmosphere.

By the way, posting here has been like pulling teeth today.  Anyone else been having trouble with WordPress lately?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 12:26 pm

    Your quick impressions are great! I’m so impressed that you captured the surf – and could sketch constantly moving fishermen on the spot!

  2. October 3, 2008 2:38 pm

    you make it look so easy! great sketches! i havent had a problem with wordpress in the last week but then i also havent posted in a while.

  3. October 3, 2008 3:39 pm

    Oh, I love love love these! I can’t take my eyes off of the first one. It has such atmosphere. The lay-out seems perfect. Great job Casey.

  4. October 3, 2008 4:56 pm

    They are all beautiful – and you were certainly on a fantastic roll, Casey. I think the fishermen are a triumph, particularly that last one. Also love the stripe of indigo (is that the colour?) sea higher up. You are becoming a sketcher’s sketcher!

  5. October 3, 2008 8:50 pm

    Wonderful sketches Casey!!! They are so spontaneous and great.
    You and Lin are spending way too much time on the beach 🙂 and I am jealous.

  6. October 4, 2008 11:54 am

    I’m so glad you were able to spend time at the Jersey Shore. I grew up spending my summers in Longport (way south, next to Margate, across the inlet from Ocean City). I miss it terribly so it’s great to see your sketches. Where else in the world are those pier supports left to mark the beach intermittently. I have a watercolor sketch that my mother made at the shore 50 years ago with pier supports sticking up from the sand. Sort of encouraging to know how well anchored they are.

  7. October 4, 2008 5:48 pm

    Such beautiful, colourful sketches…always the case when you come home form your NY visits!
    ronell

  8. October 4, 2008 5:50 pm

    oh en yes…wordpress had my “zen” turned into “hysteria” lately…
    ronell

  9. October 5, 2008 12:33 pm

    What lovelinesses …. are you still on holiday?

  10. October 5, 2008 2:07 pm

    Such a great collection of images. I’m in awe as I always bring my sketchbook with me when I’m at the beach and NEVER get anything down in it. Something about the vast horizon intimidates me I guess. I like the way you’ve chosen to focus on small vignettes. A very smart approach.

  11. October 6, 2008 5:45 am

    This series makes me wish I was outside and fishing! All of them are great! I love the looseness and your wet on wet technique. Makes me FEEL like I’m at the ocean!

  12. October 7, 2008 2:09 am

    Lovely sketches Casey!! it must have been nice to visit the USA again…i have relatives in New Jersey too!

  13. October 7, 2008 4:10 am

    Oh, these impressions of the “Joisey shore” are going to make me homesick! I grew up in NJ. Lovely, Casey!

  14. October 7, 2008 7:02 pm

    beautiful and vibrant as ever! I’m missed visiting and am delighted today to have a few minutes to stop and say hello. I just got home from Guatemala and now I’m off to the beach for a few days!!!! I’ve missed you!

  15. sandy permalink
    October 7, 2008 7:43 pm

    Sketches that perfectly caputre the carefreel oceanside vacation spirit!!Fast , Fresh and fabulous.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

