Skip to content

Nothin’ Could Be Finer…

September 30, 2008

ok, ok!  I can hear the moans from here, I’ll stop! Anyway I can’t sing.

While in North Carolina with Laura, I was having too much fun to draw.  Really – here’s a picture to prove it.

In South Carolina, I managed to quickly scribble a few things, but most of our time was spent strolling around Charleston, drooling over the beautiful homes, eating wonderful food and learning about the strange history of this (now) wonderful city.

Here’s an impression of Charleston done during a break in our walking tour.

During our visit to the Middleton Place Plantation, I sketched a few impressions.  These were rapid fire drawings done with inktense pencils (a very thoughtful gift from Laura).

and a magnolia pod that I picked up and drew later at the b and b:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 3:02 pm

    I just love Charleston, and you captured the area with these images, Casey! I remember the first time I visited there, I saw those large iron “stars” and shapes in the front of buildings, and was told they were the decorative ends of rods that had been inserted into buildings to secure them from earthquakes, after the terribly destructive one that they felt many years ago. What a delightful place to visit on travels through the states. That top image is wonderful–so minimal but simply lovely!

  2. September 30, 2008 4:35 pm

    Oooh, oooh, oooh! Very pretty sketch of Charleston at top. I lived there for almost three years and loved every minute – especially the fact that I could walk almost everywhere. I have a long series of paintings and stories posted on my Grand Tour blog. One dear friend from those days (a marvelous painter, born and bred on the peninsula) gives walking tours. Although she knows the history of the city like the back of her hand, she always says that she will always have more to learn. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the place and bring us back your wonderful sketches. (Love those magnolia pods! My young Sweet Bay Magnolia just produced her first).

  3. September 30, 2008 7:13 pm

    You are the fastest draw artist I know! And they all turn out so wonderful!! What an inspiration you are!

  4. September 30, 2008 9:01 pm

    Yay!!! Love that Battery sketch! And I’m always impressed, like Teri, with how much you get done!
    We had lots of fun, didn’t we!

  5. October 1, 2008 1:42 pm

    Lovely impressions Casey. The top one brings back nice memories…I love those quick ones with your pencils!
    Ronell

  6. October 2, 2008 12:27 am

    beautiful sketches Casey! I just love your capture of the birds–they are so lifelike and with just a stroke or two. Nice!

  7. October 2, 2008 3:13 pm

    Beautiful sketches Casey. Your nice loose style expresses your joy. I particularly enjoy viewing your pencil work.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

