Skip to content

Souvenirs de Voyage

September 29, 2008

We’ve been back from our trip to the US for a couple of days now.  It’s great to get away and relax, but when you get back you have to deal with everything left undone before the trip!

We had a wonderful time, moved around a lot, and met some really great people.  The highlights of our trip were meeting Shirley and her husband in Manhattan, and staying with Laura and her husband in North Carolina and going with them to Charleston.  Michel didn’t really know the South at all, and he was enchanted.

I’ve just finished a marathon of scanning, but I won’t post it all today.  I’ll start with the sketches done with Shirley in Manhattan.  Be sure to check out hers (posted Sept 13).  This was the second time we’ve sketched together (last year Sandy was able to join us).  It’s a lot of fun to compare the results, because our styles are so different.

First, we went to the reservoir in Central Park to draw the skyline.

Then we walked over to the Romeo and Juliette sculpture in front of the Delacorte Theater.  There were people camping in line to get free tickets, so we didn’t feel too conspicuous.

We then headed over to the Boathouse for our second annual lunch ther.  Michel joined us, and we really enjoyed both the view and the food.  Here’s a sketch I did while waiting for lunch to be served – you can see a photo of me doing it over on Shirley’s blog.

Unfortunately, I have no pictures of the lunch, as I’d inadvertently left my camera at Shirley’s apartment earlier.  Fortunately, we went back to get it that evening, and had a great time drinking wine and discussing the state of the world with Shirley and Barry!

Now I have an extremely difficult and long translation which is waiting for my attention, so I’ll have to tell you about my adventures with Laura tomorrow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 11:56 am

    We loved spending time with you and hope we can schedule visit #3 right now for next summer! Remember that reservations are available for Chez Levine. I enjoy watching you sketch and paint so much, that I feel as if I could loosen up some if I were talking, sketching, and painting next to you on a more regular basis. Hugs for Michel.

  2. September 29, 2008 4:49 pm

    Such fun sketches and what a great day. I saw Shirley’s also.

  3. September 29, 2008 5:46 pm

    Wonderful to have you back, Casey. It sounds like holidays don’t get much better than the one you’ve just enjoyed. Lucky girl. I love your Manhattan sketches and am looking forward to many more. Now I’m off to see what Shirley did.

    Did I say, I’m a little green about the whole affair 😉

  4. September 30, 2008 6:46 am

    Oooooh–Wonderful paintings, Casey! Sounds like you got in some good sight-seeing! Fun places you got to visit!

  5. September 30, 2008 12:18 pm

    I got to see these sketches in person and they have so much more presence in real life than posted within a blog’s limitations! Not that they don’t look good here—they do, but they are large and very vibrant in real life. It’s been fun reading your post about the NYC trip and reading Shirley’s and seeing her wonderful sketches and photos.

  6. October 1, 2008 10:16 pm

    What fun to see what you and Shirley did together! Beautiful!
    Lisa

  7. October 3, 2008 7:28 pm

    belles couleurs sur Central park et ça me rappelle mon voyage à New york en 2003, j’avais adoré !

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

