Skip to content

A Basket of Vegetables, A Postcard, and some Sketches from Provence

September 4, 2008

My friends Steven and Veronica stopped by the other day with this gorgeous vegetable basket.  Dinner was late, as I sat there trying to capture it in watercolor!

Last night we enjoyed that Swiss chard with bacon, onions and cream and we’re still working on those gorgeous tomatoes..  Mmmm.

One of the things I’ve been working on with them is a series of postcards to give guests in their rental properties.  Here’s anothr drawing I’ve done – of the bedroom in one of their Paris flats.  I’m not sure yet which ones we’ll use.

And, finally some sketches done while in Provence this summer.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 12:35 pm

    wow. the vegetable basket looks beautiful. really colorful and tasty. do you use white pencil color after doing the colored parts?

  2. September 4, 2008 1:25 pm

    These are fabulous. And I just love the whole notion of going home with the postcards–people will love those, Casey!

  3. joan sandford-cook permalink
    September 4, 2008 1:48 pm

    Casey – you have been so busy. I have loved going through all your posts of Provence, Brittany, the Paris apartment, the Claire portrait is divine – so subtle. Enjoyed trolling through the figures – so colourful and with such movement. There are too many I admire to pick out. So much sponteneity and confidence.

  4. September 4, 2008 9:02 pm

    As usual, Casey, your watercolours are some of freshest and most vibrant I see on any blog anywhere. What were the white lines made with – gel pen? Your pencil sketches are just so expressive.

  5. Annie permalink
    September 5, 2008 12:03 am

    I love them all, Casey. Back home after our trip, any one of them would
    make us feel, “We still have Paris.”

  6. September 5, 2008 6:51 am

    Your sketches are really beautiful, I love your colors ! Et je reviendrai !

  7. September 5, 2008 4:58 pm

    I love them all but that viewpoint in the first one is especially appealing!

  8. sandy permalink
    September 5, 2008 6:53 pm

    Oh Casey, your bright splashy sketches always brighten my day – I Love the bedroom sketch (postcard?) I am so sad I cannot make the trek into NYC next week – I hope we can do it again another time!

  9. September 6, 2008 2:25 pm

    I’m glad I don’t have to be the one to choose. I love them all. Splashy sketches, as Sandy above described you sketches … says it best. You brighten my day with your work.

  10. September 7, 2008 6:25 pm

    What a great set of sketches! I agree that the postcard sketches, both this and the previous one, are delightful.

  11. September 7, 2008 8:09 pm

    Love that basket of goodies Casey!

  12. September 7, 2008 10:55 pm

    interiors! architecture! i’m in heaven….

  13. kenny111 permalink
    September 8, 2008 5:15 am

    I am in love with your sketches! Each one has it’s own feeling and I really admire your loose style! I recently sent a handmade postcard to my aunt as a thank you note and she loved it. I doubt anyone would want to send yours away, but the whole concept is just incredible

  14. September 8, 2008 6:32 am

    The drawings and paintings are wonderful! I can also feel the essence of the places you visited through the images but also the colors you choose! Beautiful!

  15. September 8, 2008 2:41 pm

    What striking color you’ve achieved here! I’m getting tired of my little travel pallet and think I just may change out the colors! Of course that will have to wait because I’m on my way to my first oil painting class!!!! A, et je prendre de une classe de Francias aussi! A bientot!

  16. September 9, 2008 10:35 am

    basket of veggies look delicious and is making me hungry! what a wonderful idea to have prints of drawings instead of photographs on those postcards.

  17. caseytoussaint permalink*
    September 9, 2008 3:46 pm

    Thank you all. I did, in fact, use a white gel pen on the vegetable basket to pick up some highlights. It looked a bit dull to me when I’d finished.
    Now it’s time to pack up my little travel palette, Marta, and pack for my trip!

  18. September 14, 2008 3:22 pm

    Just catching up on your gorgeous postcard project, Casey. What a charming idea, I’m sure they’re going to be extremely popular and collectable.

    Beautiful fresh colours really leap off the page. Yum.

    Hope you are having a wonderful US adventure – can’t wait to peek in your sketchbook when you return.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

