Skip to content

Drawing in Cafés

August 26, 2008

Indoor and outdoor, fellow patrons our musicians, or even people across the street – I love drawing people while sipping an express. These were done all over France this summer.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 1:26 pm

    Wow–these are all wonderful! I tried to decide which were my favorites, but they’re all excellent. I feel like a peeping Thomasina, but I love it! ;))

  2. August 26, 2008 1:47 pm

    great! so much character in each, quickly caught

  3. August 27, 2008 2:58 am

    I can HEAR the music! I especially like the drawing of the listening man in shades. And that dude with the cigarette and beer needs to use the ashtray!

  4. August 27, 2008 3:08 pm

    My goodness, these are marvelous! You capture exactly the right pose with just a few well placed lines. Whenever I try to draw people from life, I end up with a load of scribbles that may or may not be people.

  5. August 27, 2008 3:33 pm

    Loose and lovely! You make it seem effortless.

  6. August 28, 2008 5:04 pm

    These are all so fun!

  7. August 31, 2008 5:09 am

    My favorite is the accordian player. My sister plays accordian (badly). These are all so delightful and full of movement.

  8. August 31, 2008 12:40 pm

    Love the guy with dreads! Don’t forget to bring all of your sketching gear when you come here—we may be sipping wine instead of coffee, but I assume that will meet with your approval ;D.

  9. September 2, 2008 4:01 pm

    these are inspiring to me. I avoid sketching like this because I have such a hard time seeing but I see that by using only a few marks and hints of color you have captured the essence of these figures and situations. I tense up because I’m trying so hard to get an accurate likeness and can see that maybe that doesn’t matter for out in public sketching. Thanks again for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

