Skip to content

Provence – larger format work

August 24, 2008

I’ve been back from my week in Provence for over a week, but life has really gotten in the way of blogging recently!

Here are a few of the larger format works I did while staying with friends at an isolated and very rustic castle in Vaucluse. The first two are portraits of a venerable old donkey – 40 years old and still kicking – who was staying in one of the fields this summer.

Here’s one view of the the back buildings in the castle compound :

And a watercolor portrait of Claire who was reading by the pond one day:

I have lots more sketches and things to post, but that will have to happen another day!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2008 4:35 pm

    The donkey looks adorable, what a super model! Lovely sketches – I do hope we won’t have to wait too long for the rest!

  2. August 24, 2008 9:25 pm

    You’ve been away so long that I was beginning to miss you! *lol*

    As always, love your sketches! As cute as the donkey is, my favorite is the one of Claire.

    Looking forward to more.

  3. August 24, 2008 10:34 pm

    Lovely paintings. I’m glad you are back!

  4. August 24, 2008 11:31 pm

    Beautiful as usual. I particularly like the castle compound.

  5. August 25, 2008 8:59 am

    That donkey has loads of character (40 years old – that’s amazing!). I love the soft watercolour portrait too, and the vibrant roof tops of the buildings. Thanks for taking time out to post these.

  6. August 25, 2008 1:10 pm

    lovely! looking forward to seeing more :>)

  7. August 25, 2008 2:43 pm

    Oh, I love the one of Claire, too–these are all wonderful! I think that house looks the way I picture that area to look. Can’t wait to see the rest either!

  8. Annie permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:02 pm

    Welcome back, Casey. Your blog and Ronnel’s
    are my daily visits to France so I miss it when you
    don’t post. On the other hand, I am amazed that
    you folks have any time to paint’n post, at all.

    These are all so lovely, and, yes, especially
    Claire.

    Looking forward to more.

  9. August 25, 2008 4:43 pm

    Wow! A 40 year-old donkey! Your sketches of all are beautiful and I’m glad to see a new post from you. Life certainly does get in the way of blogging but when the blogging becomes part of it, I look forward to seeing more.

  10. August 26, 2008 12:43 am

    Glad to see you back, Casey, and love your new work. I look forward to your postings to satisfy my urge to travel…..never been to France,would love to go, but for now will live vicariously through your art!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

