Skip to content

Drawing Bugs, Awards and Summertime….

July 23, 2008

Reading around various artists’ blogs, it seems that there’s a crisis among drawing bugs this summer. The average domesticated variety has taken on the independent ways of the wild drawing bug, coming and going as it pleases, rather than remaining loyally on hand. This has inspired me to draw some bugs (no, not the elusive drawing bug, but some of his cousins). In the interest of full disclosure, I was also looking around for something to contribute to Ronell’s Rainbow Moments sketchbook in the Flying Pictures Project. I ended up doing something completely different, so I will share my little bugs with you here.

As you may have noticed, if you’ve been by this blog lately, I have a really hard time sitting in front of my computer in the summertime. Not only have I been ignoring my own blog, but, worse, all of the amazing blogs by artists I love, and am usually so inspired by. Hmm, maybe that’s why I’m not so inspired lately???

And while I wasn’t paying attention, three wonderful artists whom I admire deeply even have given me awards.

First of all, Maggie (Margaret Hunt), who is a renaissance person – aan artist with fabric as well as with paint gave me this award; and then today I received it again from Joan, who draws the way I do – in my wildest dreams! Her drawing bug is back, for those who’ve been following her blog.

And then, Suzanne McDermott, who does gorgeous, juicy watercolors put me on her list for this one;

I’m really flattered that you didn’t forget me while I was being so lazy! Thank you!

I’m going to pass these awards on to my fellow participants in the flying pictures project, because I’ve lately had the opportunity to see all of their work i real life and it’s incredible. I see that Ronell has already on Maggie’s list, but I’ll nominate

Vivien, Robyn, Lindsay, Nina and Glen, whose site isn’t technically a blog, but go and have a look at her wonderful work.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 2:33 pm

    LOVE your bugs! I have done several in the past and really enjoyed doing them. I love the free flow in yours.

  2. July 23, 2008 3:25 pm

    Wonderful bugs, Casey. And I’m glad they attracted your drawing bug back! I’m bug obsessed myself at the moment, prowling around the garden with the camera. You’ll probably get one from me when I EVENTUALLY receive your Flying Pictures sketchbook.

    What a lovely idea to share your awards with all we Flyers. I’ve just had a peek at Maggie & Suzanne’s beautiful blogs, not to mention Joan Y – a favourite already. Anyway, many thanks, Casey – you missed out on getting an award from me earlier because, I must confess, I didn’t get around to all the required linking, pasting and posting. I will try to do better this time.

  3. July 23, 2008 3:45 pm

    I think your bugs are far more beautiful than the real ones. I wouldn’t at all mind coming upon one of THESE!

  4. July 23, 2008 6:40 pm

    I love your little bugs! Such a simple approach to the colour, yet they are gorgeous, especially that first one. Lovely.

    So looking forward to the day when some art time comes back my way, for when I’m not making art, I too find myself neglecting the blogs of artists I love to read, and the lack of motivation/inspiration to paint or sketch is made even greater.

    Happy to see that “Rue Manuel” is getting the recognition it deserves!

  5. July 23, 2008 7:44 pm

    Ick! Bugs! *scream-scream*

    Well, okay, they are beautiful.

  6. July 24, 2008 12:06 pm

    CAsey, I love these bugs!! You inspire me!!
    Thanks for the award too. You are very sweet. This summer I too have been neglecting my blog visitation stuff. I’m just sooooo wanting to be outside. Thanks for posting.

  7. July 24, 2008 4:10 pm

    Just lovely! Hope you and Claire are enjoying your collaboration 🙂

  8. August 8, 2008 1:56 am

    LOVE the grasshopper!

  9. September 10, 2009 10:14 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

