Skip to content

Visit to a Castle

July 15, 2008

One of the things I did last week while I wasn’t blogging is spend the day at this charming castle.  It belongs to a friend of a friend, and I tagged along for a visit and an amazing meal prepared by a private chef in her kitchen.  The buildings in Sologne, which is only about an hour away from here, are constructed in brick, and this castle is no exception.  It’s a surprise when you’re used to the cream-colored tuffeau we have around here.

I did this little sketch to send a a thank you to our hostess.  It seems woefully inadequate, but I don’t really have any other ideas….

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 11:03 am

    Woefully inadequate??? You’re nuts, girl! This is fantastic! I couldn’t have done this if my life depended on it. Which, thank God, it doesn’t.
    A private chef’s meal, a castle—such is daily life at rue Manuel bis.

  2. July 15, 2008 12:59 pm

    I bet it will be treasured, framed and hung where it is seen every day. I answered your questions on my blog.

  3. July 15, 2008 4:08 pm

    It looks beautiful Casey, the wall is a lovely colour, and you’ve really had a royal time…having a chef cook for you…any pics of the meal?
    ronell

  4. July 15, 2008 4:21 pm

    i think it is a wonderful idea and looks beautiful. 😀

  5. July 15, 2008 4:38 pm

    Well, it’s not woefully inadequate at all, but stunning. I think I’d be thrilled, and I’m sure they will be to receive it. Sounds (and looks) like it must’ve been lovely!

  6. July 15, 2008 5:19 pm

    What may seem woefully inadequate to you must be a treasure for your host for years to come. Thanks for sharing your charming excursion!

  7. flyingpictures permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:20 pm

    I think she’ll be charmed and delighted by it

    Vivien

  8. July 16, 2008 1:19 am

    I think your hostess will be honored to receive such a wonderful “Thank you”. I’m sure she will treasure it.

  9. July 16, 2008 3:27 am

    Oh, you did a beautiful job on this lovely sketch. Your outing sounds like one of a princess. And your thank you seems fitting. Your hostess will love it.

  10. July 16, 2008 6:13 am

    Beautiful, another inspiring piece! Cheers

  11. July 16, 2008 7:45 am

    Never inadequate …. its beautiful, and done with sincerity; thats what matters …

  12. July 16, 2008 7:49 am

    Oh, it’s gorgeous! The colours on your blog are always so fresh and vibrant.

  13. July 16, 2008 8:28 am

    Casey – as everyone agrees, this is gorgeous. I envy the way your unique style has evolved and is now immediately recognisable.

    Sounds like a wonderful day of food and castle. Your hostess will adore your thank you.

  14. July 16, 2008 3:07 pm

    I love this, and your hostess will be delighted.

  15. Annie permalink
    July 16, 2008 5:37 pm

    We all agree, Casey, stunning and inspired and
    a great celebration of that day, that place, and
    people and food–a perfect memory picture
    and gift. It will be treasured.
    Thanks for letting us share all this.

  16. July 18, 2008 2:42 pm

    I would be so pleased to receive this if I was your hostess! It’s charming and best of all it’s personal!

  17. July 18, 2008 8:40 pm

    First of all – Happy Birthday a tad early. Hope you have a good one.

    Also, I am participating in the blog award thing and nominated you. I really enjoy your work and am inspired by it.

    Check the award entry on my blog if you’re interested-participation is optional.

    Happy drawing!

    -Sue

  18. July 21, 2008 2:36 am

    Ok, if I fix you tamales and let you stay in the studio, will you do a wc of my castle also? What a treasured gift this will be to the owners. Tres bien!

  19. July 21, 2008 7:33 pm

    I just left an award for you at Landscape into Art (be sure to read the caveat at bottom!)

  20. July 22, 2008 5:06 pm

    You have such a gift! Thanks for being an inspiration. Casey. To thank you, I’ve given you an award. Check out my blog for more info! Dang, I SO love the colors you choose. Your drawings always make me smile.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

