Skip to content

Recent sketches

July 4, 2008

I’ve been working lately, just not posting much!

My daughter Claire is designing a web site for some friends who manage some holiday rental properties here in France, and I’ve been taken on as the official illustrator.  She’s a hard boss, and has had me working flat out!

Here’s an avant-première – the ones I’ve completed so far.  I don’t know yet which ones she’ll use and how.  some are of the properties themselves and some are general ambiance sketches. It’s been a lot of fun collaborating with her. Which ones (if any) would make you want to come to France?

I’ll try to get back later to post some life drawing – I have 3 weeks worth to go through!  Life just gets away from me in the summer……

30 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2008 10:12 am

    What a treasure trove! I love them all, but I especially like the interiors—you don’t do lots of those normally. They really convey period and style. The restaurant and/or dining scenes are fantastic, too. It’ll fun to see which ones Claire chooses.

  2. July 4, 2008 1:21 pm

    Well, if I did need more prodding to visit France , these would def do it. They are charming. I love your style. ANd congrats to your son!!! Lovely portrait too!

  3. July 4, 2008 1:51 pm

    These are marvelous. My favorite come ons to France are as follows:
    #3 (Chateau), 4 (Sheep), 7 (outdoor meal), 8 (interior with open window) and 10 (alternate interior with open window). I also like the couple being served with blue background. What a great mother and daughter collaboration project!

  4. July 4, 2008 4:13 pm

    These are wonderful! Any of them would make me want to visit France, but I particularly like the sheep and the party dining al fresco. Oh, and the wine service one – LOVE the background on it – so rich!

  5. July 4, 2008 4:17 pm

    Congratulations Paul :>)

    and yes any of these, they are lovely – I do have a leaning towards those interiors. They are so characteristic of France and show the potential holidaymakers what to expect as well – it’s the home you want them to choose above any others in the area.

  6. July 4, 2008 4:23 pm

    Ha! Are you kidding? EVERYTHING you paint makes me want to go to France! These are so lovely, Casey. Beautiful color!

  7. July 4, 2008 4:24 pm

    Actually, the interior paintings with the sofas and dining table are most appealing to me. Beautiful!

  8. July 4, 2008 5:18 pm

    The man in the green coat and red vest………wow………a signature piece! You have been working haven’t you! They are all wonderful!

  9. July 4, 2008 6:02 pm

    Oh, man, Casey–these are some of my favorites of yours ever! the interiors with chairs and long windows remind me of France, and the sheep and the chateau and the outdoor gathering…they’re all just wonderful! You’ll have to keep Claire as your taskmaster because it’s working wonders! LOL. Beautiful!

  10. July 4, 2008 7:22 pm

    Lovely work Casey! I know what you mean about summer—it whizzes by.
    I absolutely adore your last 4 … but I also love the sheep and the doorway and the castle….. gosh, I’m glad I don’t have to decide!!!

  11. July 4, 2008 8:21 pm

    Oh Casey! All of them make me want to come to France! Please let us know the URL for the properties when the website is finished and maybe you’ll have lots of visitors!

  12. July 4, 2008 8:31 pm

    “Which ones would ‘draw’ me to France?” Every last one of them. Asking your question another way: “which ones would keep me from coming to France?” to which I would answer: “none of them!”
    As always: loose, free, natural, appealing.

  13. Annie permalink
    July 5, 2008 6:15 am

    Oh, Casey… Karen M took the words out of my mouth–
    everything you’ve ever done makes me want to come to
    France! Of these, just about all of them but especially
    of people eating together as they do at that table outside.
    the comfy little corners of interiors by charming windows
    (that washstand and pitcher– I grew up with those–),
    interesting street corners, building & flowers. But mostly
    showing people enjoying themselves together. I think
    that is the attraction we feel for France.

  14. Annie permalink
    July 5, 2008 3:18 pm

    PS I closed too quickly. CONGRATULATIONS, PAUL!
    Your kids are involved in exciting pursuits, Casey.

  15. Annie permalink
    July 5, 2008 3:25 pm

    Ooops, sorry. SHARON M’s comment, Not Karen M’s

  16. July 5, 2008 6:45 pm

    I love them all. Mixing the color right on the page, the way you do, is just great.

  17. July 6, 2008 10:11 am

    They ALL make me want to come to France, Casey but it is the last four that really knock my socks off! Beautiful work, I hope Claire is paying you heaps. Or are you, like all the other mothers, working for love? 😉

    Congratulations Paul, handsome and clever!

  18. joan sandford-cook permalink
    July 6, 2008 10:14 am

    In answer to your question – EVERYONE OF THEM. Delightful free, spontaneous and colourful storytelling images. Sounds like a hard task master but Claire will certainly have problems deciding what to leave out!!!!

  19. July 7, 2008 1:44 am

    I have to agree with Joan, ALL of them, but if I had to choose, I absolutely love the red door, and the waiter pouring wine. It looks like a great project – you must be having so much fun with it, especially getting to work with your daughter. Congrats!

  20. July 7, 2008 4:22 pm

    I love them all Casey. They are YOU!!

  21. July 9, 2008 5:26 am

    These look like they belong in the sketchbook of one of the wonderful French Impressionists. They are absolutely stunning and an amazing view into what appears to be a life rich in beauty and all the good things one could hope for. This is my favorite post of yours of all! I’m glad you’re getting the time to create without worrying about regular blogging. It is summer afterall! Congrats to you and your son too!

  22. July 9, 2008 7:18 pm

    Gosh, these are all gorgeous! The ones that would tempt me over most are 2nd, 5th, 7th, 8th and 10th pictures in the order that they are shown here. What a lovely idea, something different from photos.

  23. July 10, 2008 11:20 am

    I’d rent those places based on your pictures, and would insist on printed copies to take home as rememberances.

  24. sandy permalink
    July 10, 2008 3:56 pm

    She should use them ALL they are fabulous!!! Thanks for posting them. and BIG congratulations to Paul !! Great accomplishment!

  25. July 10, 2008 4:20 pm

    Wow, Casey! These are just too COOL!!!!! I love the outdoor gathering ones, but any number of them would make me want to come to France! Hey, maybe if I came, I’d be able to draw like you (LOL)…the project sounds like great fun! Congratulatios to Paul!!!

  26. July 14, 2008 12:34 am

    The wine service one, sheep, jug in bowl – all so suggestive – I love your faces.

  27. July 16, 2008 1:39 pm

    All of your sketches are beautifully done. Your handling of color is excellent. All of these could be framed and hung in a cluster and would look great.

  28. August 13, 2008 10:48 pm

    ALL fabulous. Just every one of these is fabulous. I think I like the bottom one best – then I looks again and like another. Great stuuf Casey.

  29. August 13, 2008 10:49 pm

    stuff even

  30. quirkyartist permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:33 am

    I love the interiors. Also the people dining. It is the warmth of the interiors that appeals to me.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

