Skip to content

Busy Times

June 24, 2008

I’ve sort of dropped off the radar screen lately – sometimes life just really gets in the way of blogging!

A couple of weeks ago, we went to Dublin for the ceremonies around my daughter’s graduation (actual graduations are held in November over there, but she probably won’t make it back for that).

One day, when Claire was busy organizing her end-of-year exhibition, my Mom (who came over for the occasion), my husband and I took a local train out to Dalkey, a beautiful section of Dublin along the south coast. Here’s a sketch of the harbor where you often see seals, and one of some boats moored there.

I have been drawing some these last couple of weeks and I’ll try to sift through some of it and post it hree soon, as well as catch up on everyone else’s latest work!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2008 3:07 pm

    Lovely as always. I do miss you when you drop out but sometimes life just gets in the way. But I’m glad it didn’t get in the way or your beautiful art.

  2. sandy permalink
    June 24, 2008 7:48 pm

    Oh Casey these are You – lovely and waterly and enticing – I was wondering where you were 🙂

  3. June 25, 2008 12:26 am

    I love your boats, Casey! Congratulations to Claire, too. How wonderful! Some years ago, my sister fell in love with an Irishman, and she traveled extensively in Ireland…her photos always made me want to go. She married someone else in the end, but I remember the beautiful photos. Hope you had a fabulous trip!

  4. June 25, 2008 1:48 am

    love these…. they are very dreamy!

  5. June 25, 2008 2:13 am

    Your top sketch reminds me of the tidepools I visited with Amy last Sunday in San Diego. Good time with my girl as I’m sure you are having with yours. Love the red on the boat. REd, my favorite color! Do you think maybe God created it first? LOL

  6. June 25, 2008 12:43 pm

    Lucky you…and beautiful work as always.

  7. June 25, 2008 3:38 pm

    I envy the way you show so much with so few lines, Casey. I particularly love those little boats. Never been to Ireland, land of my father’s father.

  8. June 25, 2008 6:16 pm

    these are beautiful, really atmospheric and beautifully free

  9. June 25, 2008 9:17 pm

    Lovely coastal scenes of dublin Casey…particularly that top sketch! I can feel Ireland in it.
    ronell

  10. June 26, 2008 12:14 pm

    Welcome home Casey. These are lovely. Beautiful colors and atmosphere.

  11. June 27, 2008 2:29 pm

    Hi Casey.

    Thanks for your comment on my Tired Doggie sketch. I love the watercolors. I wish I had the courage to start experimenting with them. And I’m also envious of your location… the coast of Ireland! Talk about the perfect locale for inspiration!

  12. June 27, 2008 5:53 pm

    Looks like you had a great time Casey. Hope Claire is happy and survived her degree show well … and has some ideas on what to do next 🙂

  13. joan sandford-cook permalink
    June 28, 2008 10:07 am

    Wondered where you had been since the 13th. Harbour scene of Dublin delightfully fresh and spontaneous. Im planning to visit friends later in the summer in Co Meath and have to fly into Dublin. Although went last year did not find time to tour Dublin itself or along that coast. .. but looks fascinating from your artwork. . Can we see some of Claire’s degree show work someday!! Please pass on my congratulations.

  14. June 30, 2008 8:59 pm

    Lovely, moody sky in the first painting, Casey.

  15. July 1, 2008 5:56 am

    I enjoyed seeing these loose watery sketches. Isn’t it nice to just stop worrying about feeding the blog and do what you please for a while?! But it’s nice to see you back again too. Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation.

  16. quirkyartist permalink
    July 2, 2008 7:15 am

    Beautiful loose sketches. I particularly like the colours in the sea wall behind the boat.

  17. July 4, 2008 3:11 am

    I’m with you and my lack of blogging lately. I can’t remember a summer so busy. Lovely sketches … as usual. Always envious of your nice loose style.

  18. July 14, 2008 12:32 am

    Lovely boat – so intimate, somehow. I wish I could do this loose style!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

