Skip to content

Grumpy Old Cat

June 5, 2008

One of the things I keep saying I’ll do is draw a picture of my cat Mittens every day for a month. I finally got to it today – here are a couple. I’ll try to keep this up.

As you can see, he doesn’t much like having his portrait done.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. flyingpictures permalink
    June 5, 2008 5:18 pm

    great lively sketches :>)

    I’m sure they have a sixth sense that they are being looked at even in their sleep! mine do

    Vivien

  2. June 5, 2008 6:40 pm

    I must say, he doesn’t seem thrilled, but, still, he never WILL seem thrilled, no matter what you do to him. He’s a cat—kind of like a permanently teen-aged boy, in terms of being engaged, grateful or interested in you. Nice sketches, though. Since I’m not a cat, I can say so.

  3. June 5, 2008 10:49 pm

    Love love love these. Your cats are the best. The second one down is my favourite. i just adore those paws. Excellent work, as always.

  4. June 6, 2008 2:35 am

    I love, love, love these, too! If Mittens is old, he’ll probably keep relatively still whether he likes being sketched or not. Great choice of colors!

  5. June 6, 2008 10:34 am

    These are wonderful. I love both the line work and the loose application of color.

  6. June 6, 2008 11:14 am

    Cats don’t seem to like much of anything they themselves have not thought up! You have really captured his personality here.

  7. June 6, 2008 3:17 pm

    Love how the “ho hum, what a bother” comes out in these. You really catch the personality!

  8. June 6, 2008 5:07 pm

    He looks awfully sweet for a grumpy old man. I love all of these – the expression on the second one is priceless – but the composition of the last one is my favorite.

  9. sandy permalink
    June 6, 2008 6:49 pm

    Mittens is adorable, I have a likewise sketch shy black cat that I have only sketched once and he was quite suspicious of my actions..

  10. Annie permalink
    June 7, 2008 3:21 pm

    Great fun, Casey. I keep coming back for
    another chuckle. I love the paws, too, in
    that 1st one, as well as the PAUSE, as he
    looks up. As if he’s saying, “You
    WOULDN’T DARE…You AREN’T!”

  11. June 7, 2008 4:08 pm

    all four great pieces of Mittens casey…I especially like the first one. you’ve captured a little of his vulnerability there and he has a vulnerable side, visibel when no one’s looking! nice work!
    ronell

  12. Annie permalink
    June 7, 2008 9:53 pm

    PS: OOOPS, can’t count. PAWS & PAUSE
    in the SECOND one,Casey.

  13. June 7, 2008 10:03 pm

    They’re adorable! Want to see more! More!!!!

  14. June 8, 2008 3:33 am

    Well, you know how I feel about cats! But after a week of high emotion, this brought such a smile to my face and laughter to my heart. I can’t wait to dip my brush in wet paint again!

  15. June 8, 2008 11:25 am

    Oh, I love the wiggely line – and the colours.

  16. June 8, 2008 3:06 pm

    Great! And they do make me smile. Lot’s of personality and lovely loose lines.

  17. June 8, 2008 3:06 pm

    Great! And they do make me smile. Lots of personality and lovely loose lines.

  18. June 8, 2008 6:44 pm

    I love how he seems to turn his back on you in utter disdain in that last one! LOL. SWEET! Very loose and lovely, Casey!

  19. June 9, 2008 1:02 am

    I love the bright yellow with the blue/gray – gorgeous color combination!

  20. June 9, 2008 8:21 pm

    Great project you’ve got going here Casey! Such a wonderful expression on his face. He does look a lot like my Missy cat… except grumpier 🙂

  21. June 10, 2008 1:58 am

    These are just wonderful! Great colors.

  22. June 17, 2008 6:49 am

    This kitty doesn’t look grumpy to me, just cozy. The drawings make me want to reach out and pet him. I guess I’d find out just how grumpy he is if I did!

  23. genxster permalink
    June 23, 2008 4:32 am

    These are wonderful Casey. Nice drawing and I love the blue, gray, yellow combination.

  24. July 3, 2008 8:55 pm

    I always enjoy your art!!! The cat ones are wonderful…

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

