Skip to content

My Life Drawing Group – Part One

May 29, 2008

One of the most interesting things about drawing in a group is seeing how differently each of us will interpret the same scene, still life, or model – emphasizing what is most obvious, or most important to us. I am constantly amazed at how much of ourselves we unconsciously expose when we draw. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet some of the artists from Every Day Matters in person, after getting to know them through their art. In every case, the artist’s physical self confirmed an impression I’d formed of them through their work.

When my life drawing classes fell through earlier this year, the teacher took pity on me and invited me to come to her life drawing group, which meets once a week at her home. At first I was pretty intimidated, as they’ve all been drawing together for years, but they were all so nice that I felt comfortable really quickly. We don’t look at each others work much during these sessions. Everyone concentrates on their own drawings and during breaks most drawings are put away.

Last week I posted some of the drawings I’d done in life group, along with one from another artist, Claude Besnaisnou, and it was fun to see how very differently we portrayed the same model.

Last night, we had a wonderful model. She has beautifully generous proportions, and her poses were great – I think we were all inspired by her. Everyone there agreed that it would be fun to see one drawing by each of us posted side by side. So here you have it. This is the first batch – the large format drawings that can’t be scanned. I took these photos with my phone, and I apologize for the quality. Some others will follow – they’re being sent to me by emailI and I will post them as I receive them.

So, here we go

Monique Carrière

Anne Gruer

Patrice Lecomte

Claude Froment (an extra apology to Claude for the quality – the original is beautiful)

Théophile Cousin

and the last two are mine.

All of my drawings from the other night are in my Flickr account, in the life drawing class set, in case you want a larger view. (The medium size seemed to dominate the whole post, whereas this small size seems a little too discreet!)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2008 9:58 am

    This is really interesting! Lovely group of drawings and again, it’s interesting to see the model from different angles. The four ladies, including myself, from our life class are all *completely* different – different media too from pencil to oil and pastel – so the differences are even more exaggerated. Hmm, I wonder what my art says about me, I dread to think! But I agree, one does form impressions based on the artwork!

  2. May 29, 2008 11:45 am

    Casey,
    This is a wonderful posting. Almost makes me want to take a life drawing class. I agree that it is so interesting to see what each artist selects and how it contributes to their personal style. This AM Barry and I are going on a personal tour of an exhibit here in Vieux Montreal – many, many paintings of a single old building all commissioned by the owner of the company over years. I’m hoping to do a quick sketch myself before we walk in so I can appreciate their artisitc choices even more.

  3. May 29, 2008 1:48 pm

    It looks like a wonderful group to be part of, Casey – it think it was rather fortunate that your original life class fell through.

  4. May 29, 2008 2:45 pm

    Love the ones from Monique.

  5. May 29, 2008 3:14 pm

    It’s the first time I see monique’s sketches, excpet for that one glance a while ago. All the sketches here are wll done and it is great seeing them all. Glad you’re enjoying the class.
    ronell

  6. joan sandford-Cook permalink
    May 29, 2008 4:04 pm

    I think my favourite is Monique’s second one simply because it has such roundness in the drawing. Great idea to post your fellow artists work alongside your own to see the differences in each other’s approach.

  7. May 30, 2008 1:22 am

    These are great! Tomorrow is our last day with a model. I think I’m going to really miss my class. I might take it again next semester.

  8. May 30, 2008 12:53 pm

    What a neat post, Casey! These are all beautiful! It is really true that we all have such different, unique styles. It’s endlessly fascinating to me to see that.

  9. May 30, 2008 1:01 pm

    This is a really wonderfull experience that I thank you for sharing.

  10. May 30, 2008 3:57 pm

    ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS, Casey!! Each individual — and so filled with personality!!!

  11. May 30, 2008 4:48 pm

    These are all really lovely, senistive drawings; thank you for posting them! Really makes me miss life drawing … I never attained the artistry shown here, but the struggle was wonderful! (And I was always hoping to happen on something great!)

  12. May 30, 2008 7:18 pm

    What a fasinating collection of sketches! Thanks for sharing.

  13. quirkyartist permalink
    May 31, 2008 11:28 pm

    I can’t imagine how YOU could be inimidated by life drawing when your work is so amazing. I am in a state of intimidation about life drawing also.
    At the evening college where I teach acrylic painting, the life drawing tutor has organised a tutors-only life drawing session. The numbers were made up by a few of his students. I find life drawing Really Difficult. Some of the students are much better than me. We had a painting session this week though, and I held my own!

  14. June 3, 2008 5:56 pm

    wow. how nice to see everyone’s drawings of the same pose. I love that.
    I couldn’t live without my life drawing sessions. Isn’t it addicting?

  15. June 21, 2008 8:21 am

    We have a weekly life drawing group in our small town, we stop for a couple of minutes during the evening to walk around and look at each other’s drawings, and more often than not the model walks around looking at them too. Thanks for posting the drawings by different artists, it’s always interesting to see the variety of styles.

Trackbacks

  1. Life Drawing - This Time in Color! « rue Manuel bis

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

