Skip to content

Playing around with Faces

May 25, 2008

Lately I’ve felt an urge to just play with paint. I’ve been taking random blobs of watercolor and drawing in the faces that suggest themselves to me. They don’t look like anyone, and it’s strictly for fun. Before you try this at home, be warned – it’s addicting!

And here’s a still life done at my friend Sandra’s house the other day. I had forgotten my watercolors, and wasn’t able to do it justice with the few watercolor pencils I had with me.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 5:12 pm

    I LOVE these, Casey!

  2. May 25, 2008 8:58 pm

    I know its limited colour, but thats why I like it so much!

  3. May 25, 2008 10:04 pm

    Must be that time of year – time to play and have some fun. Your faces are wonderful! I’ve been thinking of doing something similar – turning poured paint into flowers. Only thinking, mind you – lol – no doing. Good for you for going the extra step.

  4. May 25, 2008 11:08 pm

    Yes, we all have bad hair days! LOL

  5. May 26, 2008 9:25 am

    I love these! They look like so much fun.

  6. May 26, 2008 10:49 am

    They look like Fliers to me Casey.;)
    Great idea, beautiful result.

    I can’t work out how to subscribe to your blog by email. Is it possible? I always arrive late.

  7. May 26, 2008 12:39 pm

    I love these Casey and for some reason they remind me of angels!

  8. May 26, 2008 1:07 pm

    The faces are great! Love the hair.

  9. May 26, 2008 3:50 pm

    Great playing arouind Casey and the still life at Sandra’s look pretty with its minimalistic look!
    Ronell

  10. May 27, 2008 12:47 am

    Marvelous, just marvelous! I think I just might have to try some these, though I really need to work on faces….this just might help.

  11. May 27, 2008 1:58 pm

    Casey these are so clever! You make me want to run to my watercolors and pens. The expressions are so rich and all of this is from your imagination! Great.

  12. May 27, 2008 5:37 pm

    What great faces! I especially like the veiled woman.

  13. sandy permalink
    May 27, 2008 7:33 pm

    These faces are so interesting and lively – my fav is the veiled woman!

  14. May 28, 2008 4:04 am

    I love the wildness and freedom in these sketches.

Trackbacks

  1. Art in the Mail! « rue Manuel bis

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

