Skip to content

Stuck again – or is this a good place to stop?

May 19, 2008

I did get back to working on one of the portraits I posted about a few weeks ago, but I keep getting stuck on it.

Just to refresh your memory here’s where I was before:

I’ve moved on to this :

Part of me is thinking that a little judicious cropping could put me out of my misery. What do you think?

In the meantime, I’ve become involved with a new project called flying pictures – a handmade sketchbook exchange. This is huge for me – I’m terrible at most manual skills. I once tried to make my son a batman costume and sewed the ears on upside down. It looked like a very intellectually-challenged cat. The theme of my sketchbook is local color – Here are some of the things I’ve been playing around with. My friend Dominique (a bookbinder) is trying to help me out, but I’m a very slow learner.

Here are the 1st 2 pages – (after that I send it on to the next person) oops – those are my feet, too!

And some ink experiments that probably won’t get used, because I paid no attention to the grain of the paper. I can hear Dominique sighing from here….

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 12:09 pm

    I think that is an excellent crop, Casey. The face is great, I can now see why you wanted to capture it. I was very keen on the elusive image in the unfinished picture as you may recall.

    What a surprise the rest of this post is! Wow, I can’t wait to hold this lot of beauties in my hot little hands. And I love that final view through the gates to the house.

    Now remind me about paper grain again…

  2. flyingpictures permalink
    May 19, 2008 2:39 pm

    these look great! I feel the same as Robyn – can’t wait to start getting these interesting parcels through the post :>)

  3. May 19, 2008 2:58 pm

    Love the sketches and the bold color. Did each of you make a sketchbook or is it one book that you are sending around? Either way, it’s a great project. Several years ago my prospective daughter-in-law and I passed one back and forth. Since she was in San Francisco and I was in Chicago it was a great way to get to know each other!

  4. May 19, 2008 4:13 pm

    I ALWAYS love your art!! These are just great!

  5. May 19, 2008 4:51 pm

    I agree with everyone else…I love the looseness and vibrant colour of your sketches.

  6. May 19, 2008 10:42 pm

    I really like the crop. Love the traveling sketch book idea and your wonderful color!

  7. May 20, 2008 5:12 am

    You are busy, busy! I too like the cropped version. And those sketchbook sketches – yum!

  8. May 20, 2008 5:28 pm

    Yes, the crop works for me too. Good solution!

    Like your colourful sketchbook pages too. I love collaborative sketchbooks.

  9. May 20, 2008 8:07 pm

    Here’s another vote for the crop. It works for me, and I love the bold colors in your later sketches!!

  10. May 21, 2008 12:02 pm

    Oh, wow – those first two pages of Flying Picture are just delicious. Though i can’t help but think that I would want the whole sketchbook filled with Casey pics.

  11. May 22, 2008 8:01 pm

    I like the painting you’re working on, Casey, very much. Your thin washes of paint add a slightly nostalgic feel to the piece. Is that me in the right side of the painting ;D? J/K. It looks a little like the sketch you did of the back of me at Fontaine de Mars!
    Hey, I’ve seen those red shoes before!
    You have such a great sketchbook exchange group!

  12. May 23, 2008 1:03 am

    I love the colors in that bottom painting, very vibrant and cheery but not garish.

  13. May 23, 2008 5:43 pm

    Beautiful watercolor pages, I think it will be a great book!

  14. lindsay816 permalink
    May 26, 2008 1:07 am

    This is such a fun theme! I can’t wait to work in your book.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

