Skip to content

Walks in the Countryside

May 9, 2008

The weather here in France is finally warming up, after an endless cold and rainy winter. My friend Emmanuelle loves walking going on long walks, and is very talented at getting a group together and plotting a path somewhere we’ve never been before. Yesterday we walked about 10 kilometers south of Loches, which is about an hour’s drive from here. The pace was pretty quick, but I managed to grab a few minutes sketching time during our lunch break.

Here’s what I could see from where I sat:

And here’s what happens when you walk fast in the hot sun for a couple of hours and then drink wine with your lunch:

This is a super quick sketch done last weekend on another, shorter walk, closer to home (with no lunch break):

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 9:20 am

    Love love love the drunk in the grass painting 🙂

    By the way, just saw Claire’s post – will see if I can get Drew to have a look (considering he is now a senior lecturer in product design technology, he may have some interesting comments!)

  2. May 9, 2008 10:56 am

    Of course I’m drawn most to the house painting and marvel at your ability to suggest through line, add fabulous color, and create a small quick painting. Love it! I may need to copy it a few times in my sketchbook until I get comfortable with less fussy drawings.

  3. May 9, 2008 11:53 am

    I love these, Casey! Every single one and especially the after lunch scene with the dogs (“What wine?”)

  4. May 9, 2008 12:25 pm

    I too love the after lunch and wine scene… are those Jack Russells? I have 5 JRTs… your sketches are fabulous… I’ll be bookmarking your blog for future visits.

  5. May 9, 2008 1:47 pm

    It’s always a treat for me when you’ve posted new sketches. All three are great in their own way but I particularly like the last one. The simplicity of the line and the boldness of the way you applied the color in that one is something I aspire to.

    Barbara

  6. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 9, 2008 2:13 pm

    Thanks guys!
    Yes, those are indeed Jack Russells – mother and daughter. They belong to our friends and often come along on walks with us. They were feeling the heat too, I think. I’m afraid the markings are a bit random….I added the color later on that sketch.

  7. May 9, 2008 5:24 pm

    Lovely sketches! Especially of what happens in the sun with too much wine. Love the dogs!

  8. May 10, 2008 6:41 am

    These are so fresh and expressive. For being done quickly they have so much information. Thanks for taking us along.

  9. May 10, 2008 12:34 pm

    WHat a lovley day.I like the “wine ” sketch too. We are having such a mix of weather here in Chicago. Glad spring has finally arrived where you are.

  10. May 10, 2008 1:43 pm

    Gorgeous, uninhibited use of the watercolour in that first one – and I really like the “lying in the grass” sketch!

  11. Annie permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:59 pm

    Yay, Casey! Two of those were also watercolor
    pencils- right? If so, they make me feel more
    hopeful about those son-of-a-guns which, right
    now, are driving me nuts. There are so many
    great artists’ blogs that I love to see, but I
    feel an affinity for this style of sketch that
    you and Ronnell do–it’s the type of sketch I
    hope to achieve, someday, on postcards to
    my near and dear.

  12. May 12, 2008 3:57 am

    Of course I’m drawn to the one with the hikers taking a break!!! I can feel the warm sun on my face and the wine relaxing me into slumber. What wonderful walks there must be where you live. I hope your weekend was joyful and full of color!

  13. May 12, 2008 5:55 pm

    Looks like a good walk! Love your sketches, as always.

  14. May 13, 2008 12:43 am

    Wow, these are so beautiful, Casey. I can feel the warmth of the sun in the way you have used color. Must have been some really great wine. I’ll have to try that!

  15. flyingpictures permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:36 am

    Your ‘consequences of lunch and wine’ is gorgeous, Casey. I too find it awesome they way you capture so much, so quickly with so few lines. The dogs, of course, totally charm me.

  16. May 13, 2008 11:12 am

    These sketches are wonderful! Both the linework and colors are beautiful.

  17. May 13, 2008 6:38 pm

    Wonderful sketches that really describe the places you were. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

