Skip to content

Seven Random things I don’t like

April 30, 2008

I’ve been tagged by Sarah to tell seven random things about myself, and I must be feeling negative today – please excuse this if it sounds like a rant! Here are seven (mostly) small random things that annoy me (ever so slightly) :

1. Those letters you have to copy to post on blogger. I know they serve an excellent purpose, but it feels like a test, and, while this is embarrassing to admit, I fail it at least 50% of the time.

2. Music on blogs or web sites. I’m usually listening to something else and it feels like an intrusion. There’s no way to turn it off without shutting down whatever else I’m listening to on the computer.

3. Delivery people and repairmen who won’t tell you what time they’re coming. Here in France (and I suspect everywhere else too) they tell you something like, “between 8 am and 8pm.” Then they invariably come at 7:45 pm, if they show up at all. In case you hadn’t guessed, I’m waiting for a delivery today.

4. Mayonnaise – it’s a food phobia that I’ve had since I was very small. I admit that it’s illogical, as I like both eggs and oil, but I truly cannot look into a jar of mayonnaise without feeling ill – and it can be difficult to avoid when you are buying lunch.

5. People who park in front of my gate, so that I can’t pull my car in or park there myself. This is the perfect example of what JP Sartre called “la mauvaise foi”, because there’s so little parking in my town that everyone does it – and I do it myself to other people. But it still annoys me.

6. Multi-millionaire politicians who accuse others of being elitist.

7. Those muddy little paw prints my cat has been leaving all over the house since we’ve been having the garden re-done.

Well – I feel much better now! I hope I haven’t depressed you too much. I won’t tag anybody this time, but if you feel like having a rant of your own, consider yourself tagged! Or, if you prefer, add to this list in the comments section. Thanks, Sara, for the opportunity to blow off some steam.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 30, 2008 8:02 am

    I enjoyed reading this and sympathise with all of them – I particularly hate music on sites and blogs – also fancy animated graphics which make the page really slow to load. Strikes me that a ‘Things I don’t like’ tag might be a fun idea – after all we all exeprience daily annoyances and as you say- it makes you feel better to let of steam every now and again.

  2. April 30, 2008 8:53 am

    Good to get things off your chest, isn’t it?! I can’t help with most of those annoyances, but if you use Firefox you can block the music that automatically plays on blogs and websites (which I agree is VERY irritating) using an extension called Stop Autoplay (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1765). Works well for me!

  3. caseytoussaint permalink*
    April 30, 2008 9:01 am

    Thank you Dave! I tried it and it works great.

  4. April 30, 2008 9:57 am

    I hate those letters too, and also get them wrong a lot. I swear they are getting harder and more obscure. Or am I getting older? No, the letters must be getting harder.

  5. April 30, 2008 10:16 am

    The letters are getting harder, you have to be a computer to figure them out.
    Nice rant Casey –

  6. April 30, 2008 11:32 am

    An excellent list, and the parking in front of your gate thing would drive me batty. I agree with Laurel – those stupid letters have gotten virtually indecipherable, and I find myself squinting, then still goofing them up all the time.

  7. April 30, 2008 4:29 pm

    I agree with all of these (well, except for the cat as I don’t have one; we’ll substitute dog hair). Even more than the music I hate the little graphic that works like a string attached to the cursor and flings around across the page! The letters are getting harder to read, used to be, if you missed them the first time, the second set were clearer, not any more!

    Now as to your garden; looks like it will be much more controlled but I like the wild look in the picture with you.

  8. sandy permalink
    April 30, 2008 7:59 pm

    Well your rant felt quite good to me actually, like a good scream or cry it is cleansing and I cannot disagree with a single thing (except Mayonnaise as I must admit I enjoy it at lunch) The Terrance/garden are so neat and perfect but just wait – it will be wild with color soon I am sure.

  9. April 30, 2008 8:33 pm

    This is such a civilised rant Casey, you must be very sweet natured! My sound isn’t working so no. 2 doesn’t affect me – but having no sound is annoying! The letters on Blogger are getting more distorted, I noticed that too. It’s also irritating that Blogger keeps asking for username and password when you visit other blogs and are already signed in! Yes, a rant is good now and then and this wasn’t depressing at all!

  10. May 1, 2008 7:33 am

    Casey, this list is great. You want to know why? i felt as if I was the only person getting those damn letters wrong. And I´m pretty sure I fail more than 50%. I do not know what the problem is. My husband never gets them wrong. But whenever I write a longer comment and just want to send it off, it really gets on my nerves having to type in these letters 3 or 4 times.
    And music on websites is a baaaad, bad invention when you can´t shut it off easily.

  11. May 1, 2008 4:38 pm

    I hate automated voices and a list of choices when I call a business and if you punch in the wrong choice sometimes you never get anywhere. I just want to talk to a real person when I have a question or problem!

  12. May 1, 2008 10:28 pm

    This is amusing. Some gripes are just universal!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

