Skip to content

Garden Update

April 30, 2008

The planting in our garden has just this minute been finished, except for a few flowers that it’s too early to put in. As the sun showed up for a few brief moments, I’d thought I’d post a couple of photos to show the improvement since my last post on this subject.

It still doesn’t look like much, but at least the grass seed has been sown and all those little baby plants put it. They’ve cut back the wisteria so much that we won’t see many flowers on it this year, so it’s a little sad right now. If it could just all grow quickly. Gardening is definitely a hobby for people more patient than I….

A view from the new terrace :

The same part of the yard from another angle (oops – look at that lovely garbage can!)

And we now have a path to follow through the future grass. It’s a lot like playing hopscotch. It would be nice if the cat would stay on these too, but he much prefers running around in the grass seed.

As a contrast – here’s a shot of me in the garden last summer – it was pretty wild, but I sort of liked it that way… but I know this will all be worth it in the end!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2008 1:06 pm

    I’ll be interested to see how your garden grows over the spring and summer.

    As to Cactus Monday, I don’t see why we wouldn’t keep it up, as best we can.

  2. April 30, 2008 1:15 pm

    Your garden looks lovely! We put in new grass in our back yard after adding on to the house…its alot of work! I’m sure it will be charming this summer. THat tree is wonderful!
    PS your rants made me laugh. The delivery thing is the same here in the US too. Same for me about the musical blogs!!!

  3. April 30, 2008 4:05 pm

    I can see it will be gorgeous when it’s all grown in – how fantastic to have a walled garden like that :>)

  4. April 30, 2008 5:51 pm

    I was waiting for this post!!! You’re garden will be lovely when it all grows in. I’m fond of the “wild jungle” look too….but I’m sure this is refreshing to start anew. Love the knarly trunks on the tree and wall and I’ll bet the wisteria blooms will be exceptional next year.

  5. April 30, 2008 7:58 pm

    I love your walled garden! I wish mine looked as lovely as yours did last summer – all wild and full of flowers. That’s my dream.

  6. May 1, 2008 4:39 pm

    I see myself sitting there with you, visiting and enjoying the blossoming beauties that will soon arrive!

  7. joan sandford-Cook permalink
    May 2, 2008 1:12 pm

    Good luck with the garden – hope it turns out as you plan. We were very fortunate in our move last year as we now have a house where the owner was a florist and we are having great delight in waiting 12 months to see all that was planted come up. Its been wonderful – lots of mature flowering shrubs and unusual perennials and bulbs. Great for me being a floral painter at heart.

  8. May 3, 2008 3:26 am

    What fun….. a new garden. You will love it when completed and all the lovely flowers are surrounding you as you walk along.

    Also want to add: I have given you an award.. the rules are on my blog. If you are too busy to follow through please do not feel obligated.

  9. May 4, 2008 11:59 pm

    Your garden is looking great. I love that tree.

  10. May 5, 2008 11:53 am

    I always think walled gardens are magical. Your jungle of flowers last summer was beautiful (not to mention the gardener!) so I can see why you are missing them now. Don’t forget to keep us up to date as everything grows again Casey, it is going to be well worth all the mess you’ve had to put up with to get to this point. And I’m looking forward to seeing it all in watercolour too!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

