Skip to content

Faces on the Train

April 10, 2008

On the way to Paris the other day, I tried to sketch people around without being too obvious. It was early in the morning, so most of them were half asleep. On the way home we sat in one of those small compartments, and it was just too close to draw people, so I slept instead.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2008 2:44 pm

    Great faces Casey…my favourite being the last one..
    Is your internet up and running again?
    Ronell

  2. April 10, 2008 4:29 pm

    Great faces Casey. I love doing this also.

  3. April 10, 2008 8:19 pm

    sleeping people make the best subjects…unless you are working on eyes!These have a lovely fresh feel.

  4. April 10, 2008 11:22 pm

    Casey,
    These are wonderful! What type of pencil did you use – and how to prevent smudging?
    Shirley

  5. genxsters permalink
    April 11, 2008 5:17 am

    Excellent sketches! I liked the third one the best. Hope he didn’t miss his stop. 🙂

  6. April 11, 2008 8:31 am

    Great sketches Casey! I like the expression on the first one, his face looks very relaxed as if he’s in a deep sleep!

  7. April 11, 2008 10:07 am

    Great sketches – I try to do sleeping people also, otherwise people want to see what you are drawing.

  8. April 11, 2008 4:23 pm

    I love all of these, I get so nervous about being “caught” drawing someone, that I don’t even try very often so don’t improve…My fav is the last one but all of them are great!

  9. April 12, 2008 1:35 am

    nice soft pencil lines … I like them all!
    I’m like Tami– I get nervous thinking I’ll get caught.

  10. Annie permalink
    April 12, 2008 3:21 pm

    I love the line, Casey, and then the brief shading that
    really sets it off. I would like to know what you used
    to draw, too. The lines are so thin but dark.

    My pencil work always smudges.

  11. caseytoussaint permalink*
    April 13, 2008 9:03 am

    Thank you all
    for the comments.These were just done with a number 4 pencil on white sketchbook paper and smudged with my finger. I’m always worried I’ll get caught too, so I quickly look away when I see them becoming aware of my gaze. This time I was with a group of friends, so it was easier to pretend I wasn’t actually looking at the other people on the train. Still – I find you have to be so fast that it can be hit or miss in terms of a likeness.

  12. April 13, 2008 3:01 pm

    Great sketches, Casey. I think I like the first one best but there’s great character in the last.

  13. April 13, 2008 3:38 pm

    I know this is weird, but I’m getting sleepy just looking at these ;D. I love drawing people on trains and in other public places—there’s such an immediacy involved in the looking and the rendering, something your sketches are great evidence of!

  14. joan sandford-Cook permalink
    April 14, 2008 2:23 pm

    Great use of minimal materials with great results. Everyone looked so individual. I wonder if anyone sketched you whilst you slept on the way home??

  15. April 14, 2008 9:57 pm

    They’re wonderful … thats possibly the one thing I miss about London – having the underground and a captive set of subjects to draw …

  16. April 14, 2008 10:58 pm

    Very good sketches, Casey. I have also done this before. However, when the person I was painting started to look at me, (probably imagined what I was doing) I had to change subjects. So the outcome was quite interesting. The beginning of the sketch was based on a 30 year old guy and the last part was based on a 50 year old man. Came out quite an interesting sketch.

  17. April 16, 2008 2:15 am

    Oh my goodness…these are SO terrific. They all have such a wonderul delicacy. And some how, using only pencil, you’ve managed to tackle the flesh in a way that makes me feel as though I can reach out a touch it.

    Oh…and how I wish I could begin a blog post with “On the way to Paris the other day…” A more likely opener to a post on my blog would be “On my way to Walmart…”

  18. April 17, 2008 3:13 am

    Wonderful faces. I am particularly drawn to the bottom one!

  19. April 17, 2008 5:28 am

    these are wonderful and like laura they made me sleepy to see. But then I am looking at them when I should be asleep from my bed. Such variety of sleepy people!

Trackbacks

  1. Art explained » Blog Archive » Expressions of Humanity
  2. Expressions of Humanity

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

