Skip to content

An Afternoon in Ronell’s Garden

April 4, 2008

The weather was beautiful and sunny here this afternoon, and I couldn’t stand another minute of being at my house with work going on outside, so I called Ronell and invited myself over for an afternoon of sketching in her beautiful garden. It was wonderful. We sat in the hot sun, drank coffee and tea, snacked on cheese and apples, and just drew what we could see from our chairs. It had been a while since we’d done this, so we had a lot of catching up to do. Her garden is a great place to sketch, as there are so many cool things in it – here’s what I did today.

The third sketch, in case you’re wondering, is the top of a soup tureen that Ronell brought outside for a still life.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2008 8:44 pm

    The tones you used in these pieces really gives great depth to them. Love your color variety.

    Mark

  2. April 5, 2008 12:27 am

    You do wonderful background washes. What size are these sketches?

    Sounds like you had a lovely day.

  3. April 5, 2008 2:10 am

    Oh, it sounds like a heavenly day!! And you HAVE captured a bit of heaven in these sketches!

  4. April 5, 2008 3:05 am

    oh my, I’m so envious of you being able to get together with a friend and spend the afternoon drawing and visiting … what a wonderful way to spend the day.

    I love them all, but I’m really fond of the last one. The yellow is spectacular in this application.

  5. April 5, 2008 11:34 am

    I’m jealous of the HOT SUN! I like the top drawing best, the softness of it is wonderful, and what fun to sketch with Ronell…

  6. April 5, 2008 11:46 am

    I have lots of envy – sun, warmth, spring and wonderful relaxation and sketching. Love them all but especially the last painting of the urn with those wonderful colors.

  7. April 5, 2008 5:02 pm

    How lovely! I wish I had the time, energy, attention span, interest, etc. to create a beautiful garden space. I did once, but now mine is in need of complete renovation and I just don’t seem to have the gumption for it. Maybe these beautiful sketches will give me the inspiration I need.

  8. April 6, 2008 12:51 am

    How fun this sounds and looks! I love you washy backgrounds and playful lines in your drawings!

  9. sandy permalink
    April 6, 2008 1:07 am

    Obviously a wonderfully fun productive day – I envy you two in the warm sun of a lovely garden, sketching – it is still cold and rainy here in new england.

  10. Julie permalink
    April 6, 2008 12:22 pm

    Your paintings remind me a somnolent, sunny afternoon. Very peaceful. I love the looseness of you work

  11. April 6, 2008 4:32 pm

    your day sounds exactly like the kind of day I have in my dreams. and the way you draw it is exactly like I draw in my dreams.

  12. April 10, 2008 2:48 pm

    All of them are lovely and reminiscent of a beautiful day…feels SO long ago if I look outside!
    ronell

  13. April 13, 2008 3:33 pm

    I’ve been out of touch (OK, Claire, tais-toi ;D) for so long that I missed these! I so wish I could have been there with the two of you! These are such fun–can’t wait to check Ronell’s blog to see if she posted hers from your session together.

  14. May 5, 2008 1:36 am

    Gorgeous work ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

