Skip to content

Life Drawing

April 3, 2008

I haven’t been posting much in this category lately, mostly because I had a couple of bad weeks, where I didn’t much like anything I did at my life drawing group. I really have trouble drawing anything worthwhile in 2 to 5 minutes, which is pretty much all we do. Last night I decided to work smaller – A4 size- and I felt a bit better. Here are the ones I like best – I did a lot of awful ones too.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2008 2:44 pm

    Oh, these are lovely, Casey – the lines are so fluid, and the bits of color are exactly the right things to set the figures apart from the background. The one on top is my favorite, but they are all beautiful!

  2. April 3, 2008 3:23 pm

    Diane, These are very nice drawings. I know what you mean about short drawing times – I finally just gave up and quit going. I like them all; but the second one down really captures my eye – probably due to the color you added. Btw, thanks for your comments on my blog.

  3. April 3, 2008 3:32 pm

    what gorgeous loose drawings – the proportions are perfect. I especially love that top one with the swipe of blue along her back… the tension between her and it is fascinating.

  4. April 3, 2008 5:28 pm

    They is lovely life work, Casey; and getting 3 drawings you’re pleased with from one life session sounds like pretty good going to me! The patches of colour in the second one remind me of some of Rodin’s nudes. I have no experience of using watercolour directly from a life model, though Charles Reid’s work made me want to.

  5. April 3, 2008 5:29 pm

    “They is” = “This is” … *sigh* It’s been one of those days.

  6. sandy permalink
    April 3, 2008 6:18 pm

    Well Casey, I find these very expressive and sensual.

  7. April 3, 2008 7:30 pm

    These sketches are very good. Loose and sensual. The spare use of color in the top one really makes it work. Just right.

    BTW, I posted a drawing of a bottle of champagne today, per your suggestion. Cheers!

  8. April 3, 2008 8:22 pm

    I bet you the ones you didn’t put up were just as wonderful as the ones you did!

  9. April 4, 2008 12:04 pm

    I would be thrilled to have sketched any one of them from life, regardless of the amount of time available! I particularly like the last one, but then I keep going back to the first one – they are all very good, Casey. Beautiful lines.

  10. April 5, 2008 11:33 am

    I love ’em all…

  11. April 5, 2008 5:03 pm

    WOW! These are really fantastic! As good as any I’ve seen, even by professional illustrators. Great work Casey! The dimensionality (if that’s a word) is just right .

  12. April 5, 2008 11:53 pm

    These are lovely and loose and just the right touch of color. Hard to believe they’re 2-5 min drawings.

  13. PainterWoman permalink
    April 8, 2008 3:51 am

    Very appealing. I’d love to have these where I can look at them on those days when I HATE having a body. The care of your sketch comes through brilliantly.

  14. April 27, 2008 7:38 am

    These are lovely. I’m starting life classes myself in a couple of weeks. I think life drawing is so HARD and it’s more like work than pleasure for me.
    Still, it will be good for me. I’m used to always drawing A1 size at art school, so maybe I could work small and I’d like it more. I’m certainly not expecting results like these wonderful ones of yours.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

