Skip to content

Anita

April 1, 2008

A quick, small painting of Anita, who works at my local fruit and vegetable store. She’s been working there since we first moved to Amboise, even the the shop has changed hands at least three times. This is watercolor with watercolor pencil – to finish my wc pencil class, I needed to do a person and a mixed media piece.  The class has been over for a couple of weeks, but I’m always late, and I feel better having finished all my homework.  I guess that was drilled into me when I was small. It’s been a millennium since I graduated from college, but every now and then I still have a nightmare that I’m taking a class but haven’t done the work, and I wake up in a cold sweat – those are my most frightening dreams…

This is small – 7×9,5 inches – so there’s not a lot of detail, but it made me want to get to work on some larger ‘people paintings’.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 4:49 pm

    This is wonderful, Casey. Fantastic work on the fine detail too – just look at that hand! Face is wonderful too – she looks very French. The colours are gorgeous. You have turned watercolour pencil into a wonderful medium. Would you have believed it when you began?

    My schooldays nightmare involves forgetting a crucial item of clothing. I still wake up in a sweat, trying to hold down my too short skirt. I’ve often wondered what a psychologist would make of it.

  2. April 1, 2008 5:24 pm

    Wow, Casey! I would love to see you do some larger paintings of people if the small one with, “not much detail” looks like this!

  3. April 1, 2008 5:56 pm

    Beautiful work Casey, lots of character and atmosphere.

  4. April 1, 2008 5:59 pm

    I stumbled upon your blog yesterday and on spending more time on it today I have to say that I really enjoy the fresh feeling and looseness of your work as well as your comments.

  5. April 1, 2008 8:18 pm

    Casey, you did such a beautiful job on this!!

  6. April 1, 2008 8:38 pm

    This is wonderful, and the colors are perfect.

  7. April 2, 2008 1:56 am

    A figure and color!!!!! We can’t work in color yet. 😦 This sketch incorporates everything a good composition involves. I have the hardest time planning a good composition. You have caught the ‘essence’ of the figure beautifully. I can feel as if she is lost in thought doing her task, much like most of us. I can feel you invested yourself in this scene as the artist. We don’t see you but we know you are there. Since this has turned into a critique I want to point out what bothers me in the figure. I think it might be that the proportions are slightly off…maybe the torso a bit short….but I can’t be sure. Her hands look a bit larger than I would think, unless she really has large hands. But overall you can count this one as a success. I love it!!!

  8. caseytoussaint permalink*
    April 2, 2008 8:24 am

    I see what you mean, Marta – there’s something that bothers me too. I think it’s because her torso is cut off a bit. Plus, her big hair and the position of her head makes it seem very large.

  9. April 2, 2008 2:43 pm

    I think the proportions make the painting more interesting. There’s a strength conveyed in the forearm and the short torso. Works for me!

  10. April 3, 2008 6:42 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of your people paintings Casey…you have a knack for sketching people and capturing their gestures and characters. This one particular could make a lovely bigger painting!
    Ronell

  11. April 7, 2008 12:18 am

    Hello, I came across your drawing blog and I really like the work you’re doing. It really seems you capture the atmosphere of the moment. Thanks, I’ll keep coming back!

    Dan

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

