Skip to content

View of St Denis

March 31, 2008



The slightly romanticized view from our third floor bathroom. Paul has an almost identical view from his bedroom. I overdid the trees – there are some, but not that many. This is watercolor pencil – I’m still having color issues. I guess if you want nice clear color, you need to use real paint – or could it be the grain in the paper?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 9:21 pm

    I don’t have much experience with watercolor pencils but I rather like your colors here and the way the building sits in among the foliage.

  2. April 1, 2008 7:04 am

    I hadn’t realized how long it had been since I visited until I scrolled and scrolled and saw all the wonderful images and stories. My goodness you’ve been busy and creating beautiful work. I can’t imagine what it would be like to live somewhere with such a view. It was great seeing your fountains and your picture of Laura sketching. Your artists/girlfriends trip to Paris sounds divine.

    Thanks for being such a steady source of support and encouragement on my blog. I’m going to start coming by more often now. I’ve been so focused on my painting and it’s making me grumpy. Time for some fresh inspiration and “get out” more, even if it is by visiting via blogs.

  3. April 1, 2008 2:42 pm

    I appreciate your trials with watercolor pencils. I have only tried them once and at that time there was an artist friend who was telling me I was using them the wrong way … now for the life of me I can’t remember how she told me to use them. I guess I was too frustrated to retain it.

    I love this view. I love the way the trees are sub-dued and do not over power the building, and they let the building be the focal point. Lovely.

    I hope Kitty is doing better. I have a cat and hate to see him depressed. When that happens, I find I make a fool out of myself tring all kinds of silly things to get him happy again. Very pathetic.

  4. April 1, 2008 3:07 pm

    I really like the gentle, misty effect you’ve achieved with the trees. The colors are soft and subdued, and the building is lovely. Hang in there with the pencils because this sketch is really beautiful.

  5. April 3, 2008 6:38 am

    I think you’re doing great with the WCpencils casey…this really looks romantic and I like the many trees, it adds to the atmosphere!
    ronell

  6. April 3, 2008 6:49 pm

    Nice job. Nice view too. It looks great with the WC pencils. Didn’t realize how long its been since I’ve visited your blog. I always enjoy looking at your stuff and I’m always inspired.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

