Skip to content

Some Pages from my Sketchbook

March 25, 2008

These were done in an exhibit of artifacts from the Phoenicians in the Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris. If you should ever go there, please be sure to have a meal in the restaurant – it was wonderful!

These were scribbled in the dark mostly, and don’t always look like what I was drawing, but I’ve grown attached to them.  I didn’t add pen lines to these, but left my original pencil sketches and just added a bit of color.  Luckily, Laura drew the griffin-head pitcher as well, because I’d forgotten the color and made it terra-cotta.  When I saw hers, I realized the error of my ways.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    March 25, 2008 7:31 pm

    This series is sort of like a hypnotism show; look at the right hand figure in the 3rd pic: “Your eye lids are getting heavy… you are feeling sleepy….”, and all the others are in a hypnotic coma (normal when you’re a sarcophagus!)

  2. March 25, 2008 8:07 pm

    I am laughing so hard at Claire’s comment!! I miss her!!!! I miss you, too, of course ;D, but, unless you’re drawing fancy boy horses, you don’t make me laugh quite so much as she does. OK, the bulgy eyed guy made me laugh pretty hard once I went back to see what Claire was talking about! As for the color—the color is whatever the Caseyean eye thinks it should be, right? I love your color sense. Mine is much less juicy.

  3. March 25, 2008 9:21 pm

    Great ‘artefacts’ Casey .. bulgy-eye man sure has made an impact, I’m about to go into a trance myself ….

  4. March 26, 2008 7:07 am

    These are all great sketches Casey, I especailly like those forst two!
    Ronell

  5. March 26, 2008 2:50 pm

    I’ve just done a quick tour of your blog and have enjoyed all the sketches and stories! I love the colors on the horses! The fountain sketches are lovely! You are a fine draughtsmen! The faces here interesting…..reminds me of the large heads/masks I saw at the Colosseum in Rome. Now, I better finish up my assignments due this morning and get to class! a biento!

  6. March 26, 2008 4:03 pm

    These a fun, I lke the loose lines and the colors. Gawd, if I was trying to draw in the dark none of my lines would match up; I’d have noses and eyes floating all over the page (fi you could tell what they were LOL)…

  7. March 26, 2008 6:14 pm

    I like the pencil-y line!!!

  8. March 30, 2008 9:23 am

    I love the little dabs of colour on the faces.

  9. March 30, 2008 11:35 am

    Lovely use of colour and line – I especially like the goggle-eyed fellow too. What a fine time you all had – thank you for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

