Skip to content

Paris Fountains

March 24, 2008

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently spent some time in Paris with Laura. She was finishing up an incredible series of the fountains in Paris, and I went along and drew with her. It was freezing the whole time, and we were often dodging raindrops. Laura sticks it out and takes the time she needs, but mine tend to be a bit more rushed. You’ll be able to see the difference if you have a look at hers.

I used watercolor pencils on the top three (inktense) (oops! not the very top one – can you see the difference?) and was really pleased to finally be able to use them in a way that gave the results I was looking for – and they’re really handy – I got everything done on site. I find my work is different when I change media – it’s a bit more reigned in with the pencil form of watercolor.

The last two are a mix of wc pencils and my tiny Daler-Rowney watercolor set- too many colors just confuse me when I’m working outside, so I have a six color set I take with me for sketching. The last one is an unfinished sketch on which I played with some colored inks I bought in Paris. I’m looking forward to doing more with them when I have some more time in the next couple of weeks.

The horse sketch (the top one) had Laura and Claire in tears they were laughing so hard. He’s actually quite fierce looking in person, but somehow mine turned out to look like such a party boy…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 2:46 pm

    Ah! These are great! The best stuff you’ve posted with the wc pencils for sure. I love them all but especially the party boy horse (although I wouldn’t have thought of him that way on my own). I’m glad that you had so much fun with your friends and Paris.

  2. March 24, 2008 3:40 pm

    I love the way you’ve done (for the most part anyway) just small parts of the fountains. I’d have been trying to draw every detail to the exact proportion and end up throwing the whole thing away. Sketching in the freezing cold, I AM IMPRESSED, I am such a wuss when it comes to the drawing in the wind or cold… Sounds like a great time. Love the party boy horse his simple details work perfectly (not as a party boy though LOL)

  3. March 24, 2008 3:59 pm

    Oh my Casey, these are all so gorgeous, I love the looseness of the lines and the colours and the way everything seems to just flow together. And yes, the party boy is my favourite too, he seems so alive 🙂

  4. March 24, 2008 4:44 pm

    Casey, They are all WONDERFUL!! I find it hard to be lieve that they are pencil. You achieved your usual great colors and looseness and finished everything on site and in the cold! You make me want to try the Inktense. Any advice?

  5. March 24, 2008 4:49 pm

    Casey, I think they are all lovely – the top sphinx fountain and the party boy horse in particular! The colors on Mr. Party Horse are fabulous. I’ll have to break out my inktense, now – I haven’t tried them in a while. Spectactular work!

  6. March 24, 2008 4:53 pm

    I think your Party Boy horse is fantastic, Casey he’s so alive, yet still a beautiful statue. You should be thrilled with him. If I could sketch a horse like that I would be exultant! These are all gorgeous and you’ve really hit your stride with those watercolour pencils. You’ve achieved such elegant results with them.

    I marvel at your’s and Laura’s stoicism working in freezing conditions. And your work doesn’t look at all rushed. Brava, brava, brava.

  7. March 24, 2008 5:21 pm

    Oh waht a perfect day! These fountains are wonderful!!! Love that party boy.

  8. March 24, 2008 5:24 pm

    I started laughing and crying AGAIN! That horse is very powerful ;D. I just love these, but I echo what you said about mine—your artwork looks so much more vibrant in person, though I love being able to things here on your blog. It makes me so happy to have your sketches and mine as mementos of our great week with Claire, too.
    Please tell her I’m going to post her portraits in the next day or two! Wonderful stuff, dearie.

  9. March 24, 2008 7:07 pm

    Beautiful sketches again! -I especially like the last one and the experimental style of it!

  10. sandy permalink
    March 24, 2008 7:24 pm

    Oh Casey, your posts always nspireme to let loose more and just Do More. Amazing work and the WC pencil work is fantastic, and not pencil-ish at all – LOVELY – and the party horse is also fierce, a realy Party Animal : O Great Work all around and lots of fun as well .

  11. March 24, 2008 7:34 pm

    These are just fantastic Casey!
    I especially like the last four, the blue horse is so scrummy!!!

  12. March 24, 2008 8:14 pm

    These are wonderfully fresh and appealing! Sounds like you ALL had a great time. Thanks for sharing!

  13. March 24, 2008 9:53 pm

    these are wonderfully lively and well observed – I enjoyed Laura’s too

  14. March 25, 2008 10:26 am

    These are great, Casey! I love the lively style and the colours. Your horse certainly does have character, very impressive. The perspective of these (looking up all the time) must have posed some challenges.

    I really like your bar sketches below too – you manage to suggest so much atmosphere with just a few lines and lots of yummy colour.

  15. March 25, 2008 3:23 pm

    you did wonderful sketches Casey…theyr are all loose, but so expressive with great colour. and as I’ve said, I thinbk your party horse looks actually wild and very vigorous! your sketches show the fun you’ve had!
    Ronell

  16. March 25, 2008 4:25 pm

    These are all so beautiful!! thank you for sharing them –
    I’m glad you finally made friends with your pencils – it looks like it’s going to be a great relationship.

  17. March 26, 2008 9:04 am

    I love that party horse! before I read your comment I was thinking that he looked so….studly! love him.

  18. March 26, 2008 7:03 pm

    I love your drawings! I love the horse the best but they sphinx is marvelous!

  19. March 29, 2008 11:04 am

    These are wonderful, the looseness of the lines and colors. The last 2 are my favorites..

  20. March 30, 2008 9:24 am

    These are just wonderful.

  21. April 2, 2008 3:24 am

    How wonderful your fountain work is. As soon as I saw it I knew you and Laura had been sketching together! Oh, how much I would have loved to be there too. I love fountains…you’ve done an incredible job and I love the colors and flow of your work. I think the top one is my favorite though I love the horse too…just lovely!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

