Skip to content

Sunday sketches

March 10, 2008

I’ve been trying to break a streak of some very bad art, but nothing seems to work. Even life drawing seems harder than usual to me. I always tell other people not to worry when this happens to them, but it’s hard not to worry.

Trying to loosen up, I decided to do some sketches.  Yesterday the weather was too awful to go out and draw so I put on a dvd and froze it to draw park scenes. I felt much better afterwards, but today I’m still doing awful work.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 4:02 pm

    I am totally with you on this one, as are all of us if we’re being honest. All I can say (and I’m talking to myself as well) is to hang in there! We love your work. I like the fisherman a LOT.

  2. March 10, 2008 5:04 pm

    You have done great work in the time I was away, Casey…love your opera sketches and of course your life drawings…and congratulations on them being mentioned, it is well deserved! the fishermean in this post really caught my eye, you captured great gesture. Yes, that is just how art is, a wheel, and we can just patiently wait until we’re at the top again. In the meantime, just keep on going!
    Ronell

  3. March 10, 2008 10:19 pm

    Casey, these are lovely! Nice and loose. When I get like this, I just try to remember to do what gives me the most pleasure:splashing colors around, ripping up a magazine….just some low pressure stuff.

  4. Bonny permalink
    March 11, 2008 1:19 am

    casey, Ease up on yourself, a bit. We all have to do our share of awful drawings and paintings. That’s how we can recognize the great pieces when they happen!!!

    I haven’t produced anything I would call well done for months. I still go to my classes and I just finished a workshop this weekend. Did I produce anything good? Not really. But I did have fun doing the paintings! I think that’s what it’s all about – having fun. We put restrictions on ourselves when we expect everything we do to be good enough to post on a Blog, or to hang on the wall.
    By doing that, we’ve already defeated our original purpose at the outset – to have fun.

    From what I see here, I’d say you’re doing just fine in the drawing and painting department. It’s maybe your high expectations that need tuning down. ;)) LOL!!!

    Keep up the great drawings and paintings, Casey! WE all love them

  5. March 11, 2008 2:33 am

    Your comments made ME feel good because I have those days also when I wonder whatever made me think I could do any art! Thank goodness it passes, but I know that gnawing feeling you have.

    I definetly thought of you when I was sketching in Mexico because those fast and loose sketches reminded me of you and it made me happy!

    On the other hand, I love these loose happy people.

  6. March 11, 2008 11:20 am

    I find it very hard to believe that your work is bad! These sketches are certainly lovely and loose.

  7. March 11, 2008 11:30 pm

    I feel like a hamster in that wheel Ronell describes! I had a bad day at figure class and think the only reason the instructor gave positive feedback on my sketches is because she just really nice! I didn’t follow directions and wandered into my own little world….I still can’t get proportions right….it was hot and stuffy in the studio..etc….But here we are to encourage each other and so kudos to you for making yourself sketch, for splashing the paper with wild and lovely color and for sharing your struggles with us. I especially like the last sketch and the expression on the man with glasses. Do you think, maybe if we put a piece of good french cheese on top the wheel we will get there faster?

  8. March 13, 2008 4:28 am

    These are so loose and perfect looking, you’d never know you were stuck in an art bind…Hope it gets better.

  9. March 18, 2008 2:27 am

    These are so fresh, loose and fun. I love the way you get the watercolors to blossom.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

