Skip to content

100 Things

March 4, 2008

I haven’t been doing much lately on the 100 ideas project I’ve been working on with Kerstin and Mim. They’ve been doing some interesting things with the project lately, and it’s a lot of fun to work on this with them.

I took my cue from Kerstin on this one – she drew a grid of places she’s lived, and I enjoyed looking at it so much that I did my own. It came along at the right time – I’ve been in a bit of a slump as I’m struggling to learn about watercolor pencils. I’m going to persis, to see what I can get out of them, but I get discouraged because I’m not very good at them yet.

So here was a fun project, and I used wc pencils to do it. the colors aren’t as good as they would have in in regular watercolor, but it’s easier to get in and do detail on a tiny scale.

The places I’ve lived, in chronological order, and referred to by either country, state or city depending on how I remember the place and a certain logic understood only by me, are :

Kenya, Ghana, Maryland (USA), The Jersey Shore(USA), Sydney (Australia), New Zealand, New York (city), New Brunswick (Canada), New Mexico (USA), Le Havre (France), Amboise (France).

This took a lot longer than I thought it would, but it was fun to go back and remember each place (or what I was told about the place if I was too small to remember, and find an image that symbolizes or illustrates it for me. I thoroughly recommend this exercise, especially if you’re feeling a little stuck.

Can you guess my favorite places from the drawings? I tried to be neutral, but maybe my preferences show.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2008 4:26 pm

    great. love the colorful drawings. itΒ΄s hard to guess which ones were your favorite places. Maryland, Mexico, Sydney are the draiwngs which I like best.

  2. March 4, 2008 6:36 pm

    The Sydney and Maryland ones ‘pop’ for me! I can’t imagine living in so many places! I’ve lived in so. calif. all my life except for a year when I way 16 and went to school in Mexico. The colours here are lively and bright….this is very pleasing to look at……and as for ‘slumps’ … they are okay too; time for reflection and goal setting, or running out to get new art supplies just because!

  3. March 4, 2008 7:05 pm

    Hey, this is a fun project. I’ll have to go to the other sites and check them out. I’d say that Ghana was NOT your favorite place but the Jersey Shore (Longport) was where I spent my summers growing up and was (is, in memory) my favorite place. Sun, sand, sea, freedom, relaxation…

    Re: slump with watercolor pencils… you don’t have to excel at every medium. Even if you learn them to your satisfaction, you might not like them.

    Cheers.

  4. March 4, 2008 8:07 pm

    Great idea! I’ve lived in lots of places too, though not quite as far flung as your list!! I think Maryland and New Zealand stand out for me, but they’re all good.

  5. March 4, 2008 8:44 pm

    What a great project! Last night I sketched my very first house, and the floor plan of our second floor apartment. So maybe I can combine the ideas and do both specific place and the cities when I’m looking for my daily ideas!

    I couldn’t tell which places you liked the most unless it is by size. Loved the grid and amazed as before with how many places around the world you have lived!

  6. March 4, 2008 8:56 pm

    Wow, so many places and all are painted beautifully…This is a great page Casey!

  7. March 4, 2008 9:07 pm

    This looks great! I think you loved Sydney.

  8. March 4, 2008 11:39 pm

    Very cool page……and you are very well traveled!

  9. March 5, 2008 1:30 am

    I love the page layout! What a lovely reminder of your travels, you gypsy!! I especially love the crab.

  10. March 5, 2008 2:11 am

    Casey, this is just great. I would never know you are having trouble with those pencils. You made them are so convincingly interesting but I am going to guess New Mexico. Or is that my favorite! πŸ™‚

  11. March 6, 2008 4:39 am

    What a good idea! I like this. I usually find I’ve actually made a lot of progress when I come out of a slump.

  12. March 6, 2008 11:12 am

    You’ve been around! From these, I can’t tell your favorites. I know it’s not based on size, because I know le Havre was not your favorite city. It’s fun to see all these though—it’s sort of like one of those montage postcards from your life. See you in a week!

  13. March 6, 2008 6:44 pm

    I love New Mexico (your drawing, never been there!), Maryland and Kenya. Of course I happen to love Sydney as well.

    You’ve done a beautiful job on what I bet turned out to be much more work than you anticipated.

    As for watercolour pencils, from my own experience I think they’ve got more going for them dry than wet. I do think they are particularly good for journals – for paintings, there are so many more satisfying options. But I certainly don’t think you a flunking WC pencils, Casey πŸ˜‰

  14. March 8, 2008 1:26 am

    Wow you’ve lived in all these places? New Mexico and Le Havre and my favorites but the’re all very colorful and lovingly drawn too.

  15. genxsters permalink
    March 8, 2008 7:39 pm

    What a cool idea! I like New Mexico the best. I understand how you feel about WC pencils. They can be pretty frustrating. I like the idea of them, but they never quite fulfill the promise. But that could be me and not the pencils. πŸ˜‰

  16. March 9, 2008 4:02 pm

    Neat!
    Your seasoned worldliness shows in your work. When I peruse your drawings/paintings, I feel like I’ve gone places.

  17. joan sandford-Cook permalink
    March 9, 2008 4:57 pm

    What a lucky lady to have lived in such diverse places. I’ve only ever lived in England although quite a few different counties. Even so, the project could still work for me if I had the time. Loved the collage look of the artworks and particularly liked the warm colours on the Mexico memory. Great idea greatly accomplished.

  18. March 9, 2008 8:37 pm

    You sure are well traveled Madame!

  19. caseytoussaint permalink*
    March 10, 2008 4:48 pm

    Thanks for your comments everyone – Actually, the only place I really didn’t enjoy living was Le Havre. I was too small to have an opinion in Kenya and Ghana, and I guess my favorite places were New Zealand and New Mexico. I think that depends a lot on what was going on in my life during the times I was in those places (although Le Havre, really, is pretty rough!)

  20. March 19, 2008 9:42 pm

    I have visited a few of those places, but how amazing to be able to say you’ve lived there. This is a fun composition – I really like your approach with the watercolour pencils!

    “Struggling to learn” doesn’t constitute a slump: it constitutes learning. This is lovely stuff, Casey. Once you’ve made friends with your w/r pencils, you will positively soar.

  21. March 19, 2008 9:45 pm

    I have just read your reply to the other comments and I have to say that I can imagine Le Havre was the least colourful of all those places! I made a day trip there in about 1989, and the memories I retain are of a sort of seaside Legoland in shades of grey. Can totally understand why Monet was motivated to become the most amazing colourist after growing up there ….

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

