Skip to content

Open Day at the Opera

February 18, 2008

Saturday the Opera House in Tours opened its doors to the public – we had access to the backstage and met a lot of the technicians. It’s an old theater in the style of the Opéra Garnier in Paris (much smaller though), so it was fascinating to see a lot of the original installations.

In the afternoon my friend Brigitte and I sat in on a rehearsal of their next production, Pélleas et Mélisande. Not my favorite opera by a long shot, but we stayed for a couple of scenes – it was interesting because they were working out technical details like placement on the stage etc. My opinion of the opera itself remains unchanged though. Apparently it’s an acquired taste. I haven’t acquired it yet – give me Italian opera any day….

Here are a few sketches done during rehearsal, of the director, the audience (I admit it, I wasn’t even watching the stage for a while) and a couple of main characters, Golaud and Mélisande.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2008 12:28 pm

    Wonderful sketches.
    My mom was an opera singer, so opera has a wierd effect on me. Since she practiced after us kids were in bed – most aria’s put me right to sleep with a comfy cozy feeling. And ” O Mio Babino Caro” will always, always remind me of mom.
    Other than Italian opera’s I’m not a great fan either.

  2. February 18, 2008 1:39 pm

    Casey,
    You manage to catch sooo much in a few lines. Love these – especially the last two. I haven’t acquired the taste yet either, but if my husband will feed me pre-performance at the Grand Tier, I’ll go to one opera with him at the Met per year.
    Shirley

  3. February 18, 2008 1:50 pm

    These are great, Casey – I especially like the view of the audience from the balcony and the form of Mélisande.

    Thanks, as always, for your comments!

  4. joan sandford cook permalink
    February 18, 2008 3:19 pm

    Casey – love your freedom of line and wash and somehow creating such solid form. Clever aspect looking down on the public in the stalls.

  5. February 18, 2008 4:29 pm

    Hey Casey,

    I love the opera drawings especially the female character. So much emotion in that one.

    -Donna

  6. February 18, 2008 8:04 pm

    Wow Casey, these are great! I really feel like I was sitting there with you. The onle over the balcony is especially appealing.

  7. February 19, 2008 12:19 am

    Great post!
    Thanks for the visit and comments.
    My Angela Hewitt sketch was made on site with a pilot pen. Later, at home, I used colored pencils.

  8. February 19, 2008 12:40 am

    Hi Casey,

    thank you very much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment, i wasn’t aware that someone else had put my name and link up, but i’m grateful never the less.
    You have wonderful loose lines and a fun sense of color, keep at your life drawing and draw whenever you can!
    i’ll stop by now and again
    ciao~

  9. February 19, 2008 12:52 am

    oh and by the way, if you want to see some great life drawers, go to my blog and look under my links, check a girl named “seo kim” and “adam rogers” and also “alan cook”

    these 3 are great artists! i’m sure you’ll love their work

  10. February 19, 2008 12:54 am

    Casey! It too love the opera. And we are going twice this season. Lucky you to get behind the scenes. I so wish I could sketch more easily when I see and opera. I love the drama and the colors.
    I love your over head painting of people!!! Nice conductor one too.

  11. February 19, 2008 3:25 am

    Casey, what wonderful sketches. I especially like the arial view, that is one that you’ve captured well. The back view of the gentleman, my favorite.

  12. February 19, 2008 3:29 am

    oh! these are all so beautiful – but that last one is just mesmerizing! the pose, the way you framed it, the colors, all of it is just wonderful!

  13. February 19, 2008 4:53 am

    Charming sketches that do look very opera-like. It was fun to see the different points of views, looking down at the audience, up at the stage.

  14. March 8, 2008 10:56 pm

    God, these are absolutely BRILLINAT, Casey. Brilliant.

  15. March 8, 2008 10:57 pm

    I really should read through a comment before I post it. Excuse the spelling, gives me a chance to say my favourite is the second guy down. SO cool.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

