Skip to content

A New Medium

February 14, 2008

I’m trying to learn to use watercolor pencils in Kate’s online class. It’s so scary to start a new medium – nothing ever works the way you plan it, every step is an adventure. And landscape’s never really been my thing….Well, here’s the very first homework assignment!  I even went down to the Loire and painted in plein air. I did this in an ordinary sketchbook, not on real watercolor paper (I don’t want to waste it until I’m a bit more sure of myself).

It’s a start.  I’m finding the medium harder than it looks, but I’m doing better than the first time I tried !  I can see a lot of problems with this, but I can’t fix them at this point, so I’ll try to do a better one tomorrow.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2008 6:09 pm

    I really like this one! What lovely colors. I think you are getting the hang of it….this is a beautiful landscape. I especially like the left corner greens and texture and the clump of trees. Really strong area that leads me right up and around the whole compositon!
    PS: Buon San Valentine mon ami!

  2. February 14, 2008 6:15 pm

    PSS: I meant Bon not buon (italian)

  3. February 14, 2008 6:19 pm

    Casey, this is wonderful!! I wouldn’t have guessed you were new to the medium

  4. February 14, 2008 7:24 pm

    This is really lovely … you’ll have not problem learning this as far as I can tell.

    I hear you about learning a new medium. Very scary indeed.

  5. February 14, 2008 8:22 pm

    These colors are very nice and I like the way the right-hand corner is left unfinished. Good for you for trying a new medium!

  6. February 14, 2008 8:31 pm

    What gorgeous colours, Casey. Fascinating to see you working in another medium. It’s lovely.

  7. February 14, 2008 8:31 pm

    It looks great to me. I would not have know it was WC pencils. Pretty colors.

  8. February 15, 2008 12:12 am

    Casey, this is really lovely. THe pencils look fun. Just keep doing what your doing…..its great.

  9. February 15, 2008 1:32 am

    I think it looks great! Good for you for venturing in to the watercolor. I work daily on letting go of trying to “save” paper because it’s the only way to grow – to use it up. And you can only “correct” so much with watercolor.

  10. February 15, 2008 9:35 am

    Lovely texture and colours!

  11. :) Silvia permalink
    February 15, 2008 1:03 pm

    I’m sure you are going to master this new medium soon, Casey :)! Just hang on!

  12. February 16, 2008 1:25 pm

    I like the way this looks, slighly tighter than your usual, but interesting and great colors. What type of pencils are you using?

  13. February 16, 2008 4:41 pm

    I love when you post the work you are doing as a result of Kate’s course. I think your colours and textures are lovely, Casey and I’m so impressed you are out sketching at this time of year. I don’t know why you think landscapes aren’t your thing. This one is very natural so I think they are going to be very much your thing (as is just about everything, I’ve noticed).

    I almost never use water with my watercolour pencils and I think it is probably because I can’t make them look like watercolour, yet I love the pencils themselves. More please, I’m hoping to learn something.

  14. February 17, 2008 12:55 pm

    its Beautiful! wouldn’t know that you were a beginner to the medium at all!!!

  15. parisparfait permalink
    February 17, 2008 3:34 pm

    Looks like you’re off to a great start! My daughter started out at age five learning to draw and paint with watercolours, because her teacher said it was the hardest medum – “and if you can do that, you can work with any kind of paint.”

  16. February 17, 2008 8:07 pm

    I so want to see this larger! I couldn’t get it to enlarge for some reason. This is very atmospheric and subtle and lovely. You must have to really rein in your juicy color impulses when you’re working in this medium!

  17. February 18, 2008 5:41 am

    Hi Casey! Lots of new sketches I hadn’t seen. They all look great, though later I’ll take a better look, it’s almost 4 am now. I just wanted to let you know you’ve tagged. =) See my blog in case you’d want to play. Greetings and HAVE FUN! Hugs, Martín.

  18. February 18, 2008 6:27 am

    This is so beautiful…one of the nicest works I’ve seen with watercolor pencils. I got frustrated with them and gave mine to the little girl next door. Your composition and perspective (something I’m working on right now) are spot on. By the way…your comment about not wanting to waste watercolor paper compels me to say that it wouldn’t be wasted! It’s just paper after all. And using good materials can make a big difference in your learning, don’t you think?

  19. February 18, 2008 9:59 am

    Still kicking myself for not enrolling in Kate’s course – even more so now I’ve seen your work. Still the CD is on its way, so as soon as it comes I can have a try. I’d NEVER know that watercolour pencils is a new medium to you!

  20. February 18, 2008 9:17 pm

    You’re a natural – this new medium really suits you. It will be great to see what else you do.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

