Skip to content

Life drawing – different model, different style

February 7, 2008

Last night my life drawing group met. I started out using pencil on the warm-up sketches (2minutes), and I was a little stressed out so it took me a while to warm up.

And then I wa overtaken by an irrestible urge to use pen and watercolor wash. the model was wonderful, very graceful, and with extremely “generous proportions”. It was a really nice change and I had a lot of fun. These are all from 5 minute poses.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2008 9:02 am

    These are wonderful. I DO prefer to draw the models with generous proportions, but I must say I still find life drawing difficult.

  2. February 7, 2008 4:57 pm

    I’m two weeks away from the start of my class at the local college…and so excited! These are great Casey. I think I especially like the your use of color here. Fantastic!

  3. February 7, 2008 5:55 pm

    Love the hits of colour! You have nicely rounded out your figures.

  4. February 7, 2008 9:46 pm

    You did a lot in 5 minutes ! These are nice–love the shadows.

  5. February 7, 2008 10:11 pm

    You are getting wayyyyy too good at this Casey!

  6. February 7, 2008 10:24 pm

    It’s great how you deal with figure drawing. Wonderful exercises.

  7. February 7, 2008 11:52 pm

    These are beautiful. Your pen lines look so confident and assured.

  8. February 8, 2008 2:39 pm

    What lovely free and colourful life drawings. At life drawing last night the first half was dreadful, then after the break I could suddenly draw again. I don’t understand why that happens!

  9. February 8, 2008 7:41 pm

    these are just beautiful! I love the colors and the loose lines – I especially like that one third from the top. Her pose is so interesting.

  10. February 8, 2008 9:59 pm

    Casey the colours are wonderful! I never have the courage to make skin look anything but skin-tone coloured!

  11. February 9, 2008 12:59 pm

    Wow – one place in life where “generous proportions” are appreciated – how wonderful.
    I loved your first drawings from life class, but these are much more “you” in style and flow, and are really beautiful.

  12. February 9, 2008 3:33 pm

    Really, Mim. Let’s hear it for generous proportions!

  13. February 10, 2008 2:07 pm

    Generous proportions and beautiful lines! Made me happy just looking at them, Casey. Your loose washes are very pleasing too.

  14. February 11, 2008 5:54 am

    WOW so nicely done, the colours and the lines are great….I love the natural overall look of the person. BRAVO 🙂

  15. joan sandford cook permalink
    February 11, 2008 10:59 am

    Casey loved the freedom of your quick drawings in pen and great to see so many colours on the skin. Lovely curves – why is thin supposed to be beautiful in this modern world? These are so pleasing to the eye. I did pen and wash at my last weeks life drawing session, but they seem stilted and contrived against these.

  16. February 11, 2008 2:00 pm

    Very nice drawing !!

  17. February 11, 2008 7:11 pm

    I love your life drawings – what great spontaneity and use of colour!

  18. Bill Sharp permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:22 am

    even though these sketches are more fluid that the last post, you still nailed the gestures and they read as very natural.

  19. February 13, 2008 11:00 pm

    These are so wonderful and so you, Casey. It seems I say both of those things a lot, but, really, you do have such a distinctive style. And you are such a colorist! You seem much more confident in the way you’re constructing the figures these days. Felicitations!

  20. parisparfait permalink
    February 17, 2008 3:35 pm

    These are fantastic! Excellent work.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

