Skip to content

Airport Sketches

February 2, 2008

The great thing about this sketching habit is that even down time in airports is fun!  Here are a few from my last trip.

And this one’s actually of a woman in a train station, on the opposite platform.  I liked it better before I started fiddling with it and added too much color, which obscured her beautiful face. oh well…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2008 11:21 am

    i love sketching in an airport, or on a plane, helps to pass the time and can be very interesting. I love these sketches, did you add the color after the trip? I ask because I never travel with paints due to the whole thing of ” you can’t take liquids or gels on the plane” . I do take watercolor pencils with me often and that helps.

  2. February 2, 2008 3:08 pm

    Casey these are great. I like the first and second of the men – maybe it’s the colors …

  3. February 2, 2008 6:36 pm

    These airport sketches are just great! Love the point of view of the last guy sitting down and also especially like the two ladies in coats the one that looks like she’s snuggling in deeper particularly.

  4. February 3, 2008 1:33 am

    Casey – these are fabulous. I’m so envious – I can never get comfortable enough to finish anything I start in the airport. I love the texture on that first man’s shirt. and the colors are beautiful as always.

  5. February 3, 2008 8:44 am

    you always do great people sketches and these just show it again…That first man is so spot on with his gesture!
    ronell

  6. February 3, 2008 8:46 am

    I really am in awe of your ability to sketch anywhere and anytime, Casey. I love the airport/railway series, particularly the two ladies and that final reader on the platform. These are sketches I’d have been happy with if I’d made them in the comfort of my studio!

  7. February 3, 2008 6:17 pm

    Casey I love the two women, you’ve captured the one with the walking stick perfectly with her hips pushed forward

  8. February 4, 2008 1:36 am

    They are all wonderful! I am so hoping to get into a figure class this spring at the local college. I’m setting my alarm for 4am to register online…hopefully the class won’t be closed!

  9. February 4, 2008 2:15 am

    It’s so true about the value of the sketching habit! These are so charming, Casey.

  10. February 4, 2008 3:50 pm

    Great airport sketches–I love your nice loose application of color.

  11. February 5, 2008 1:18 am

    I love how the colors bleed in the top painting. It’s very lovely. What a nice airport souvenier.

  12. March 8, 2008 10:58 pm

    Amazing. I LOVE your work Casey.

  13. March 18, 2008 2:10 am

    I just love your airport sketches. The splashes of color are so brave–I love it! Lisa

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

