Skip to content

The Emperor’s Soldiers

January 28, 2008

update on my internet situation : still no news, but some wonderful friends are letting me post froml their house. I don’t have too much time to catch up with everyone else though.

Last week we had the good luck to catch the exhibit of the First emperor of China’s terra cotta army at the British Museum.

The crowds are controlled by timed entries, but it’s still very crowded. I sketched like crazy, and here are a few I’d like to share.

These were done with Scminke and Daler-Rowney watercolors in a sketchbook hand made for me by Marta.

That took forever on this little portable.  I think this’ll have to be it for today as I’m about to turn into a pumpkin!  Please keep your fingers crossed for my internet connection to be restored!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2008 5:36 pm

    gosh – how do you get those georgeous colors! it’s not just the paints.

  2. January 28, 2008 5:51 pm

    What a great surprise! I wasn’t expecting to see anything here, but just wanted to check nevertheless, and look what we have, emperor’s soldiers and horses! I love, love, love your fearless and quirky way with color. Good for you keeping the momentum going here, in spite of your technical difficulties!
    Grosses bises a toi,
    Laura

  3. January 29, 2008 2:39 pm

    Great sketches Casey, even more so done in a crowded gallery!
    Ronell

  4. January 29, 2008 3:01 pm

    These are absolutely stunning!

  5. January 29, 2008 5:12 pm

    I can’t believe I was there and missed this exhibit! My Amy was in a mood and so we rushed through the British Museum 😦 Your sketches beautiful and what a lovely line throughout. So happy to have you back online once again…let’s hope it’s permanent!

  6. January 30, 2008 4:08 pm

    I thought I was going to catch you online right now…I was checking my emails and saw your comment coming thrrough, so I quickly stopped to see if you’re posting something, so I could “catch you in the act!”
    Ronell

  7. January 30, 2008 9:30 pm

    These are fantabulous! The exhibit is coming to Bowers Museum, where I am a member, later in the year. I can’t wait. Very inspiring!

  8. Paris Parfait permalink
    January 31, 2008 3:40 pm

    I saw that exhibit and your sketches are marvelous!

  9. January 31, 2008 9:18 pm

    Yea, your back posting. Lovely skethces and the colors are wonderful

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

