Skip to content

Cake and Champagne

January 3, 2008

January 3rd is a special day – my wedding anniversary and, I just found out yesterday, my good friend Laura  (of Laurelines) birthday! I think that calls for a celebration, don’t you?

So I baked a virtual cake for Laura – I hope she likes chocolate and cherries. The advantage of my cake over the one you may have bought from your local bakery is that mine has 0 calories. Enjoy.

Then I had a glass of real pink champagne with my husband Michel – a sort of pre-anniversary celebration.  I’m reading a book called The Great Cholesterol Con, by Malcolm Kendrick, which suggests that drinking alcohol (moderately) limits heart disease.  So we were only being reasonable.

So happy January 3rd to all of you.  I hope you can find something to celebrate today.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 10:28 am

    Oh my gosh, Casey! Thank you SO much for the gorgeous, gorgeous cake! That red defining the white is stunning, happy, and thriling! And isn’t that how everyone wants to feel on her birthday—-stunned, happy, and thrilled? Congratulations to you and dear Michel—you are one of the very best, most suited, nicest and most fun couples I know. Wish we could be there in person to share a toast or two. Happy, happy day!

  2. January 3, 2008 11:10 am

    Happy Anniversary Casey! Your cake and champagne look fabulous!

  3. January 3, 2008 12:11 pm

    What fantastic reds! Warm and cheery on a frigid day. Happy Anniversary!

  4. January 3, 2008 1:48 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Wow, the cake really does look delicious. The drawing is not enough. I NEED TO TASTE IT!!!

  5. January 3, 2008 4:05 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Casey. Gorgeous lively watercolours as usual. I do look forward to another year of your art.

  6. January 3, 2008 4:17 pm

    That cake looks divine! The colors are exquisite, as usual. Happy Anniversary and all the best for the coming year.

  7. January 3, 2008 4:18 pm

    Bon anniversaire Casey (or does that mean happy birthday??!!??)! I’m LOVING that cake … good enough to eat 😉 ps thanks for the message on my blog. Definitely a cause worth celebrating 😀

  8. January 3, 2008 4:41 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I am salivating at the cake; but send me a piece with all the calories please! Those reds are erotic…..wow…..!!!!

  9. sandy permalink
    January 3, 2008 7:03 pm

    How Delicious, I Love chocolates and cherries – and -0- calories!!, I should do all my eathing this way. Cheers to you both this post simply made my day much brighter!! Juicy and delicious and saucy as always!

  10. Paris Parfait permalink
    January 3, 2008 8:47 pm

    A very happy anniversary to you and a happy birthday to Laura. That cake is gorgeous! Enjoy the champers.

  11. January 3, 2008 10:29 pm

    Happy Anniversary to you! Since you offer, I accept the cake, especially since its so low cal. Lovely illios!!

  12. Bonny permalink
    January 3, 2008 10:30 pm

    I agree, that cake is begging to be made real and to be tasted!!! Looks delicious! Is there perchance a recipe to go along with the visual temptation…? If there is, would you share it with us, PLEASE???

    Happy Anniversary!

  13. January 3, 2008 11:04 pm

    Lovely cake and chamy – I’ll enjoy both tonight. Tomorrow is my hubby’s birthday – he always claims that it’s the worst day of the year to have a birthday as everyone is tired of partying afte Christmas and New Years. Poor boy…

  14. January 4, 2008 1:56 am

    Happy anniversary! Lovely sketches.. your cake looks wonderful!

  15. January 4, 2008 4:10 am

    Happy Anniversary!! I ADORE chocolate/cherry cake, do you think Laura would mind if I have a piece? What a scrumptuous sketch and such a nice vivid red for those yummy cherries!!

  16. January 4, 2008 4:51 am

    I would love some cake AND some champagne please! They both look extra yummy as you present them! Thanks for sharing and happy anniversary to you!

  17. January 4, 2008 5:58 am

    Oooh! These are just exquisite! I love how creative you got when decorating the cake with those swirls of shaved chocolate and the cherries piled up on top and in the filling. The champagne looks perfect too. Beautiful!

  18. January 4, 2008 7:42 am

    Happy anniversary Casey, hope you had a fun day yesterday, which I believe is the case after some pink champagne! the cake looks deivine and what could be more fitting for a birthday than voluptuous cherries.
    Ronell

  19. January 4, 2008 12:13 pm

    Happy New Year, and Happy Anniversary! How nice of you to share the cake and champagne with so many of us. Delicious! We celebrated yesterday too – Rick is starting a new job next week, so we treated ourselves to a meal out last night. Must be a day for celebrations!

  20. Bill Sharp permalink
    January 4, 2008 4:41 pm

    Happy Anniversary. The cake looks beautiful and deliscious

  21. January 4, 2008 7:01 pm

    Yum! Looks like a great celebration!!!!! Congratulations!

  22. January 4, 2008 8:54 pm

    Spectacular cake and bubbly! I hope you had a wonderful anniversary – mine is next week – I think I’ll run out and find some champagne now that I’ve seen yours!!

  23. genxsters permalink
    January 4, 2008 10:51 pm

    Oh that cake looks like a little piece of heaven, and I loved how the champagne glasses turned out. Happy belated anniversary and have a wonderful 2008

  24. January 7, 2008 8:57 pm

    Cheers! These are delightful sketches!

  25. January 8, 2008 4:50 am

    ❤ these sketches.. congrats and happy 2008!

  26. January 22, 2008 2:35 am

    awww that is just lovely; the bubbles are my favorite part

  27. January 25, 2008 5:37 pm

    Cake and champers! What wonderful extravagances – and what lovely effortless-looking sketches as usual. Happy belated anniversary!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

