Skip to content

A Quick Trip to Germany

December 24, 2007

We had a sad week. Because of a death in the family we drove up to Pforzheim, a city not too far from the French border. I’ve been having a tough time getting back into art, or into any kind of holiday spirit, but here it is Christmas Eve, and things are looking up.

I hope everyone that sees this has a wonderful Christmas – or just a great day if you don’t celebrate Christmas. And please, please if you smoke, put it on your list of things to stop doing in 2008! The person who’s funeral I just came back from might not have gotten sick, or might have had a chance at recovery if she hadn’t been a heavy smoker.

I did manage to do a few sketches on th trip – a quick impression on the autoroute, a portrait of my husband driving, the most amazing olive green bathroom in our hotel, and someone in a restaurant in Strasbourg, where we stopped for lunch and a look at the Christmas market on the way home. It’s a beautiful city, but it was way too cold to take my hands out of my pockets and do any sketching!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2007 6:36 pm

    So sorry to hear about your friend. What a tragedy. I hope you find peace in the season adn rest for your spirit.
    I love seeing your sketches….

  2. Bonny permalink
    December 24, 2007 7:03 pm

    What a sad note at this time of year. I’m sorry to hear of your friend’s death. I also hope you can still enjoy the Holidays and look for a bright spot in the days ahead.

    Merry Christmas from Canada!

  3. December 24, 2007 7:48 pm

    So sorry about your friend. At this time of the year, it seems even worse.

    Beautiful little sketches!! Merry Christmas.

  4. December 24, 2007 7:55 pm

    Sorry for your loss. I read at Mim´s blog about the funeral.

    The sketch of your husband is great. And I could show you tons of olive colored bathrooms in Germany (my mom has got one of these bathrooms too 😉 ).
    I guess, people don´t care too much as it is expensive to exchange everything, just because of the color.

    MERRY X´MAS and a hug to you!

  5. December 24, 2007 10:45 pm

    So sorry about your friend Casey. The sketches are lovely and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  6. December 24, 2007 11:03 pm

    Casey – thanks for your comment. Couldn’t agree more about the smoking – I lost a friend, more like a sister, about 6 years ago to a horrible smoke induced cancer right after Christmas and lost my sister-in-law (room-mate at college) to another disease two years ago right after Christmas. So this is a tough time of year for us, but also a time for remembering and laughing about the good times that we had.
    Have a blessed Christmas and a very happy New Year. Mim

  7. December 25, 2007 10:53 am

    Casey, I’m so sorry about the death of your family member, my friend. I hope this Christmas is good one for you in spite of your sadness. I’m amazed at the sketches you produced on your trip. Your fearlessness with color really shows in your sketch of the two buildings. I can only imagine where you had to stand to sketch that olive green bathroom—the green toilet is one of those things that probably never should have come off the production line! My favorite is the sketch of Michel, probably because of the subject matter—and I love how you’ve given him a wonky halo.
    Love to all Toussaints.

  8. December 25, 2007 3:53 pm

    nice sense of perspective; i really like the blue dude below; what is missing in the illustration (what he is leaning on) is what really makes the statement there and keeps the eye lingering

  9. December 25, 2007 8:46 pm

    Brilliant. Brillaitn. I love the loo!
    Casey, i hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.
    You’re such a talent.

  10. December 26, 2007 12:29 am

    So sorry for your loss, certainly not the best way to end the year. Hope you have the best New Years and it goes on and on. And your sketches are so colorful. I like the building best though I’m partial to that oh so green bathroom.

  11. December 26, 2007 12:30 am

    The expression on your husband’s face says it all. That look is all too familiar. Your other sketches are, as always, such a joy to look at….that bathroom! I wish you a gentle Christmas with those you love at your side.

  12. December 27, 2007 1:49 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your loss, especially at this time of year. What a wonderful rendering of the houses (barns?)!

  13. December 27, 2007 6:55 pm

    Sorry to hear about your friend. I hope you managed to have a relaxing Christmas once you got home.

    I agree; that bathroom is something special!

  14. Bill Sharp permalink
    December 28, 2007 1:56 am

    Casey,

    I’m sorry to hear of your loss. I agree about the smoking. Most of my Mom’s family have died from lung cancer and she has emphysema and is on oxygen 24/7. It’s a really tough habit to beat. I’m sure glad I never started.

    Do bathroom fixtures come in another color?

  15. December 30, 2007 6:32 am

    I just love the bathroom, it speaks for itself! great sketches like always!
    Ronell

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

