Skip to content

Sketches

December 15, 2007

I’m pretty proud of this first sketch, as I did it in the dark while watching a comedian perform. I couldn’t even seee my paper, and was really surprised when I looked a few days later and it held together as a person. (Obviously, I added the color later.) He was terrible, by the way – and yes, he was drinking wine on stage! He tried to work it into the routine, but the jokes about it were so lame that you just knew that the wine came first and the jokes later..

These are just random sketches done while waiting for my son’s plane to land on Thursday, and a head of garlic that was sitting on my kitchen table while I made dinner.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2007 12:59 pm

    These are all great, I especially love the garlic and the purple shirt person.

  2. December 15, 2007 3:52 pm

    Gosh, that is the ultimate gesture sketch! Love the everydayness of the other sketches.

  3. December 15, 2007 7:38 pm

    wow, such fantastic colors!

  4. December 15, 2007 9:38 pm

    Oh WOW! Your colors are sooooooo fabulous. And amazing to do a drawing in the dark… I have enough trouble with the lights on.

  5. December 16, 2007 4:42 am

    All fantastic, but I love the one of the two in purple and orange.

  6. December 16, 2007 7:47 am

    You did wonderful with the sketch in the dark! You’ve captured great gesture there1
    ronell

  7. December 16, 2007 10:17 pm

    Great! You are wonderfull and very at ease with watercolours.

  8. December 16, 2007 11:10 pm

    Wow! That’s a great sketch for “in the dark” too bad his “art” wasn’t as good as yours! I love the colors that you use in your sketches they blend so nicely and their vibrancy adds life to your sketches.

  9. December 17, 2007 2:32 am

    I can´t believe you drew that sketch in the dark. Wow!

  10. December 17, 2007 6:49 pm

    Oh, the poor guy looks so uncmfortable. He must know how bad he is. You, on the other hand, are a wonderful sketcher, in the dark and in the light. I love the little rue Manuel vignettes. Of course.

  11. December 18, 2007 2:52 am

    The garlic is my favorite..I’m hooked on blue and brown and you’ve combined them beautifully.

  12. December 18, 2007 5:41 am

    I love the easy feel of these and your watercolor technique is wonderful.

  13. benedictedelachanal permalink
    December 19, 2007 5:48 pm

    Hi Casey,
    I dont really know where to put this comment, I was looking for a “about”page to leave it on but could not find it.
    I got your adress from Ujwala, who thought I would enjoy it and I just love what you do,
    I am visiting nearly everyday and I just love everything, line drawings, watercolours, and also the way you write. Looked at Flikr too.
    I think that seeing in your drawings familiar places magnifies the pleasure. I had family in Tours (Saint Symphorien) and have some in provence. I enjoy also the fact that you are english speaking leaving in France, I am french speaking leaving in Canada, mix of cultures always bring a new perspective, I think
    I will be back
    Bénédicte

  14. Sarah permalink
    December 21, 2007 10:50 am

    I like the movement in the comedian sketch – at least you got something good out of his performance. I like your garlic sketch too.

  15. December 21, 2007 3:00 pm

    I love the way these look so loose and fresh. The colours are gorgeous too!

  16. Sarah permalink
    December 22, 2007 4:03 pm

    I was looking at this blog and thought you might be interested: http://www.dailydrawingdiary.com/

    He does observational drawings without ever looking at the paper, and all the drawings – even his very first ones done like this, are on the blog so you can see how he’s progresed over the last few years.

  17. Paris Parfait permalink
    December 22, 2007 9:16 pm

    Great sketches! Wishing you and yours happy holidays and a bright new year!

  18. gabicampanario permalink
    December 23, 2007 2:32 am

    i have a catchfrase for that comedian: don’t drink and joke! nice job with the sketch Casey and Merry Xmas!!!

  19. December 25, 2007 8:45 pm

    I adore your work. the garlic is one of the best pieces of work I have ever seen. Seriously seriously cool.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

