Skip to content

Work and Play

November 29, 2007

 Lately I’ve been working hard on drawing.  I’ve been a bit of a drudge, to tell the truth, and lacking inspiration at that.  Here’s the sort of thing I’ve been doing :

So when Kerstin and Mim invited me to participate in the 100 ideas project with them I jumped at the chance . Today I looked at Mim’s blog and decided to do the same thing she’d done : draw little circles and color them in. It was really very liberating – and Ineeded to get back to the feeling of playing around with color.  So here it is, my version of this particular idea:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2007 9:25 pm

    your dots look wonfderful Casey…the 100 ideas project soinds interesting. Look forward to the next.
    ronell

  2. November 29, 2007 10:06 pm

    Lovely and very much yours. Enjoy this project, it’s really relaxing.

  3. November 30, 2007 12:03 am

    beautiful. can´t wait to see more of your color.

  4. November 30, 2007 1:08 am

    Your post today is so interesting. You have removed so much pressure from yourself! I think I’m going to try this idea. I also like your idea of more technical drawings. Sometimes I draw our Field Museum from stuffed animals looking for accuracy. This work may lead you some place completely new!!

  5. November 30, 2007 1:28 pm

    Hey Casey! So nice to finally find your commentable blog … Haven’t visited you in long time and I’m sorry I haven’t 😦

    These circles make me so happy – would love them as some kind of surface design – wallpaper/wrappingpaper/fabric? mmmmmmm

  6. November 30, 2007 4:50 pm

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! Your blog is wonderful! Love your colored circles and sketches!! Sincerely, Leigh (beegirl211)

  7. December 1, 2007 4:42 am

    I think it’s great to do both kinds of work and definitely to do something fun when art practice turns into drudgery. Thanks for the reminder! What is this 100 ideas? Are you still finding the drawing course to be valuable (even if it’s hard work)?

  8. December 1, 2007 4:46 am

    Ohhh…I followed the link and found the 100 ideas list. I’d found Keri’s site a long time ago and loved her ideas. It was fun to go back and see the pdf chart version. I printed it out. I think it would be fun to make small thumbnails of each of the projects and stick them to the chart like little stamps.

  9. stilletaeterin permalink
    December 2, 2007 7:38 am

    hey, i like the thumbnail idea.

  10. December 5, 2007 2:48 am

    The dots are wonderful. That would make excellent wrapping paper 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

