Skip to content

A Couple of Sketches

November 6, 2007

I’ve been busy with family and friends lately, and haven’t had much time for sketching, but I have tried!  Here are a couple that were started out in the field, and finished at home.

First, a tiny part of the founjtain in front of the Grand Palais, which was done while waiting to go into a design exhibit – we moved forward and I lost the perspective I’d had, so this is incomplete.

And on Sunday, we took some of our family to visit Azay-le Rideau, one of the prettier castles in the Loire Valley.  I had just enough time to get the main lines down when the tour started, but I finished up from a photo.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill Sharp permalink
    November 6, 2007 3:39 pm

    It seems that you work has become more solid since taking the class. You’ve retained your wonderful free sense of color. I always enjoy seeing what you’ve been up to.

  2. November 6, 2007 5:31 pm

    I love your loose style Casey! So colorful and wonderful.

  3. November 6, 2007 5:32 pm

    There is that glorious blue again! I’m thinking it’s time for me to do some color studies to remind me of the possibilities in my palette. I tried some new colors in my Seine sketch….and liked the results!

  4. November 6, 2007 6:05 pm

    The castle is beautiful, Casey. I think when you get the main lines down from life, the sketch still has a lively flavour – finishing from a photo never seems to take that away. The blue is wonderful – I thought it was two, with Indigo being on top.

  5. sandy permalink
    November 6, 2007 6:25 pm

    Bold and loose and lovely all at once, Oh how I adore your style –

  6. November 6, 2007 8:25 pm

    Lovely, Casey! I was intrigued when you showed us the blue ochre color that you use for buildings. I have often admired your buildings and fountains and wondered how you achieved that color. I’ve never heard of it before.

  7. November 6, 2007 10:26 pm

    I’ve been to Azay-le Rideau! It is a lovely place. And these are beautiful sketches.

  8. November 7, 2007 1:21 am

    The castle is beautiful. Love the colors and composition. It’s so rich.

    My favorite trick with perspective is to set up an object or objects to draw, start the sketch, then move the objects for some reason before finishing the sketch! Ack! My brain refuses to realize there’s a reason for the objects to be there.

  9. November 7, 2007 2:41 am

    That blue with the orange foliage is just gorgeous.

  10. November 7, 2007 9:52 pm

    These are both very lovely.

    I applaud you for sketching in situations when you might be interrupted. I tend to avoid those, but better to at least start a sketch than to do none at all!

  11. November 8, 2007 10:45 pm

    Lovely lovely sketches as ever. Love the chateau in particular. Really got a feel of it!
    MD

  12. November 9, 2007 3:26 pm

    Wonderful sketches. Nice that you went ahead and sketched … I’m sure my lazy side would have won and I would not have sketched… you are a good role model.

  13. November 9, 2007 7:56 pm

    gorgeous color and contrast Casey!
    Saw your blog mentioned on Kate Johnson’s latest “tip” email…. I’ll keep coming back to see what you’re up to!

  14. November 11, 2007 3:49 am

    i love the one of the castle. you’ve captured it so well. it reminds me of the buildings in paris and every street that looks as gorgeous as the one before ( certain parts of town of course :d)

  15. November 12, 2007 12:12 am

    What pretty little house 😀 Your colors are so vibrant, it looks alive.

  16. November 18, 2007 2:58 am

    This is so striking!!!

    sandy

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

