Skip to content

Fabric Still Life

October 20, 2007

Well, I tried to do a fabric study with just watercolor, but it didn’t work out very well, especially the hat.  Luckily, watercolor pencils (in this case Inktense) came to the rescue.  I guess I’ll have to keep working on this technique. Suggestions are welcome….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2007 6:14 pm

    Casey, this study turned out kind of neat! I like the soft pouffy look to the hat!
    Maybe one of the problems is that the 2 articles are too close in colour. Hard to define the edges between them. I haven’t tried this kind of study just in watercolour, but I think it would be quite a challenge!
    Try making a value study with just graphite to define your light and dark edges and folds.

  2. October 20, 2007 9:04 pm

    I smiled when I saw this as I am doing a little quilt block sewing and have a sketch started. Is that like great minds…. I love this little piece.

  3. October 21, 2007 8:47 am

    I’m still a complete beginner at watercolour Casey, so am completely inspired by your work. And learning from it too 🙂 I love this, and the old hardware before it, and the looseness of your cats … love them all! And thank you for the kind comments on my blog, I’m still hoping my Mozart will turn up. xx

  4. October 21, 2007 12:19 pm

    Great rescue with the Inktense pencils, Casey because this painting works for me. Would need to have seen a before photo to make suggestions – but I think your own advice, to finish mixed media, was the best solution. Maybe next time you won’t need the pencils. I’ve never tried a watercolour fabric study, not with lots of folds anyway. I’m a coward 😉

  5. October 24, 2007 7:54 am

    Oh Casey…fabric, I have a natural fear of fabric, it does just what it wants to do! It is something I also have to practice and stop shying away from. I do like the bottom half though and the pencils worked great!
    Ronell

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

