Skip to content

A couple of Quick Cat Sketches

October 17, 2007

Inspired by Alanna’s and Kate’s recent portrayals of their cats I tried to sketch my cat Mittens yesterday afternoon, but he would not hold still, even jumping up on the side of the Adirondack chair to see what I was doing. So all I got were some very quick sketches but I sort of like them.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2007 6:54 am

    My cat isn’t very co-operative either. She spends hours on end snoozing, but pull out a pencil and she’s off! But I think you’ve done a great job here with these.

  2. October 17, 2007 7:06 am

    REALLY nice, they look so effortless.

  3. October 17, 2007 9:48 am

    I love the shape of the top one, so round. Cats are wonderful to draw and it’s times like this I wish I had one!

  4. October 17, 2007 2:51 pm

    I love it. I like the economical use of the watercolor, so much expression with a few touches.

  5. October 17, 2007 3:15 pm

    Oh Casey, these quick sketches are so ‘cat’ in every way. I love them.

  6. October 17, 2007 3:18 pm

    Great sketches Casey…love your colours!
    Ronell

  7. October 17, 2007 11:12 pm

    Oh my god, this is brilliant too! Wow, casy, you are blowiing me away. Gosh this would be stunning framed and on my wall!!! hehe.

  8. October 18, 2007 2:01 am

    Minimal and confident…with a quiet luminosity.

  9. October 19, 2007 4:04 pm

    Hi Casey, I’ve tagged you!

  10. October 20, 2007 3:48 am

    Wonderful! So soft and strong at the same time.

  11. October 21, 2007 6:27 pm

    Wonderful!

  12. October 21, 2007 8:06 pm

    very nice!

  13. October 22, 2007 12:42 am

    Your cats are brilliant. Talk about economy of line and paint. . .

  14. October 27, 2007 10:23 pm

    I sort of like them too. 😀 The spontaneity in them is everything. They’re terrific!

  15. October 30, 2007 6:23 pm

    beautifully simple and lovely colours. I love them.

  16. August 31, 2009 2:12 pm

    three words: wow wow wow!!!
    how is that quick? it’d take me hrs to do that. well dun! sweet, teach me!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

