Skip to content

Weekend Sketches

October 10, 2007

We were in Dublin this weekend, getting our son settled in for his school year and seeing our daughter, who’s been back at school for a month now. It was hectic, but I had a few minutes for sketching here and there.

Here are a couple from the campus of Trinity College, the first is the roof af a sort of kiosk, which no one I asked knew the name of – including my son , who’s now a third year student there. He does know that you shouldn’t stand under it before an exam though – if you want a good grade that is.

From the very same vantage point I could see a statue of someone named Lecky – again no help with who he is from my Trinity student son. This drawing doesn’t look much like him anyway!

We spent a lot of time taking breaks at Starbucks, since we don’t have any here where we live, here’s a sketch from one of them:

We had lunch on Sunday in a really nice wine bar, where we met some wonderful Italian people – here’s another patron there and the flower on the table :

An attempt to portray the inside of another cool pub, a converted church (I know, there are lots of drinking establishments here, but this is Dublin after all!)

And finally, some gardeners working hard in St Stephens Green

23 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2007 2:02 pm

    Casey– These are nice art pieces with the ink and nice fresh watercolor washes. I would like to see more of this style from you since you appear to have a nice touch. Will check back to see more from you.

  2. October 10, 2007 3:06 pm

    LOL @ your Son…men eh?
    Your sketches are wonderful Casey, I particularly like the Starbucks one and the flower on the tabe.
    You got lots done!

  3. October 10, 2007 3:59 pm

    Casey, these are an absolute feast for the eyes! Fabulous work here. I love the wonderful greens in the statue. The Starbucks drawing with the woman in blue in reminds me of a scene from one of Manet’s paintings. It’s wonderfully composed and rendered and the way she’s looking off to the right makes me really curious and draws me in to a whole story that seems to be going on. The flower is gorgeous too.

  4. October 10, 2007 6:14 pm

    Casey, I just love your sketches-they are so free and colorful.

  5. October 10, 2007 6:24 pm

    Great sketches Casey. I particularly like the granulation and mixing of colors on the paper. Good work!

  6. October 10, 2007 7:19 pm

    Well….wow. I love line and wash and yours are fabulous. By the way thanks for your visit and comment.

    sandy

  7. October 10, 2007 9:20 pm

    Fabulous as always. I love the looseness and bright colors – but am partial to the unidentified kiosk.

  8. October 10, 2007 11:58 pm

    Oh Casey. It’s so dificult to express with words my thoughts about your watercolours and the pleasure it gives to look at them. Lively colours, fresh, loose, they got just enough to make them look soooo wonderful; nothing more, nothing less. BRAVO!!!

  9. October 11, 2007 4:24 am

    I’ve been viewing these at the EDM Superblog and can’t refresh the page without visiting your first. All of these sketches are wonderful, but I am especially intrigued with the Starbuck’s one. I like the expression on the woman’s face and the colors and activity around her. Great composition.

  10. October 11, 2007 7:24 am

    I just adore the combination of your pen lines and those juicy watercolours! Oh, I wish I could handle watercolour like this!

  11. October 11, 2007 9:29 am

    I’m glad to see your family was patient enough for you to make these gorgeous sketches, Casey. I love the kiosk and the very classy take on Starbucks. Poor old Lecky, just goes to show a statue will keep your name alive but not your memory.

  12. October 11, 2007 1:32 pm

    Beautiful sketches Casey. The expression on that girls face at the Starbucks is positively riveting.

  13. October 11, 2007 5:01 pm

    That domey building is oh so fabulous, Miss Case! All of them are, actually! I’m so happy I’ve seen your stuff in person, because now I know how very vibrant and full of gusto your sketches truly are. You can tell a lot from a blog, but nothing beats seeing artwork up close!

  14. October 11, 2007 5:10 pm

    Beautiful, loose sketches. I love the flower in the glass of water. Everything is good, in fact.

  15. October 11, 2007 7:46 pm

    Your sketches are such a treat, Casey! Thank you for taking the time to post them. I love your way of capturing form with a few confident lines and then bringing them to life with vibrant splashes of colour.

  16. October 12, 2007 3:09 am

    Great sketches. I am drawn to the Starbuck sketch. The direction of the womans gaze makes me curious what is going on at her table. I think there is a great story going on with this watercolor. I also am favoring the first… the kiosk. Wonderful perspective.

  17. roly1444 permalink
    October 12, 2007 5:14 am

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  18. October 12, 2007 6:34 am

    Fantastic sketches. Love every single one of them. I love the linework and the gorgeous jewel-like colours you get.
    Starbucks in Dulin, Trinity College, Lecky….ah memories of my holidays in Dublin with my very handsome Irish boyfriend many many years ago…..sigh..
    LOL
    MD
    x

  19. October 12, 2007 1:08 pm

    What lovely drawings these are, and a permanent reminder in years to come of when your son was at college and what you did that day. x

  20. October 12, 2007 1:26 pm

    Yes, this style is really one where you shine, Casey. These are just gorgeous and made me wistful about our visit to Dublin two years ago. Your colors are brilliant.

  21. October 13, 2007 3:30 pm

    What a lovely collection of memories. I love your very loose style. So fun to come along vicariously!

  22. October 14, 2007 8:56 am

    Beautiful sketches Casey…love the Starbucks one
    Ronell

  23. October 14, 2007 11:08 pm

    Lovely sketches. Dublin? Everyplace besides where you are always sounds so exotic.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

