Skip to content

An Afternoon in Ronell’s Garden

September 26, 2007

My friend Ronell is back from the States and we’ve started our weekly art get-togethers again. Yesterday afternoon was idyllic, in her beautiful garden, with an autumn sun warming us as we drank coffee and ate cookies (healthy ones!) and caught up with news about children and friends. There are so many wonderful corners in her garden, and she has collected so many beautiful things that we are never at a loss for a subject.

Have a look at Ronell’s blog to see much the same subjects treated in her own personal style.

BTW, the gargoyle below is a real one which they’ve turned into a fountain.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2007 5:16 pm

    I’m so glad yours is posted…I love what you did yesterday! It is really “Casey’s sketches”… I suppose I’ll always favor that side of your art…and of course your pastels and drawings, which you just do incredibly well. I’m looking forward to next week at your place…
    Ronell

  2. September 26, 2007 6:44 pm

    Oh my, such beautiful paintings!! They are so you! Great colors and shapes.

  3. September 26, 2007 11:22 pm

    I agree……the last one is my favourite!

  4. September 27, 2007 8:12 am

    It’s great to see that contrast in styles! I really like the way you capture your subjects with just a few lines, and then add vibrant splashes of colour.

  5. September 27, 2007 2:01 pm

    That sounds like a wonderful way to spend the day. Can the rest of us come to join in on your paint-outs? *wink

    The gargoyle is my favorite … just because of what it is.

  6. christeenswan permalink
    September 27, 2007 2:10 pm

    These are so fresh and beautiful- and I’m glad you and Ronell had such a great time sketching together. You two always find such neat things to paint!

  7. September 27, 2007 2:50 pm

    Lovely drawings! I think that gargoyle DOES look real – real enough to talk maybe? 😉

  8. September 27, 2007 6:25 pm

    Your watercolors are always so fresh and vivid. I just suggested to Ronell that you find someone to videotape you two at work and post it on YouTube. I’d really love to see how you manage the loose and lovely watercolors you produce!

  9. September 27, 2007 6:44 pm

    lovely work Casey! I think it’s really neat the way both you and Ronell meet for an art day and then post your work. If I had to pick a favorite I’d pick the urn–it has beautiful contrast –your background really makes the urn a standout.

  10. September 28, 2007 4:10 pm

    Lovely as usual but what I see in them is the excitement of getting back together with your friend to play! I love the green washes you’ve mixed up! My favorite…..The urn!

  11. September 28, 2007 5:05 pm

    I just love your luscious colours and your loose line work. Gorgeous.
    MD

  12. September 29, 2007 3:21 pm

    What a gorgeous place to paint (or at least your paintings make it look gorgeous!). Beautiful work!

  13. December 3, 2007 2:51 am

    Casey, there are beautiful! Sounds like you and Ronell had a great time.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

