Skip to content

One subject, done twice

September 25, 2007

I gave up on my scanner and took ictures of the two watercolors of apples and an avocado that I had done yesterday. I spent a while on the first one, putting color down and then taking it out again, trying without much success to capture the moving highlights and shadows. The result looks better as a jpeg than in reality, as I’ve torn the paper up a bit.

Then I did a second version, going much more quickly and trying for more spontaneity. It didn’t quite work out – I stayed between the line with my color and pretty much followed what I saw… It was too late to try again, time to make dinner! The composition is better on the first one, but I did do the second one more quickly. And I won’t even mention the ones I threw away!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2007 7:21 am

    They both look good Casey…I love the richness of the first one, it has a bit more drama, which I like. The second one is lovely in its looseness which I also like..really really nice work!!
    Ronell

  2. Jan Z permalink
    September 25, 2007 11:48 am

    Casey, these are wonderful. The colors are so fresh and crisp, I really enjoy your style of painting.

  3. September 25, 2007 12:22 pm

    I agree they are both lovely, Casey but I too love what you have achieved in the first one. I tore a patch out of a painting yesterday too, trying to lift a mistake.

  4. September 25, 2007 4:02 pm

    Casey, they are both beautiful. I admire the fact that you are willing to invest in multiple tries and styles. My attention span will barely get me through one try.

  5. September 25, 2007 5:06 pm

    Both are very nice, the colours are clearer in the second and the first ihas a rustic feel about it.

  6. September 26, 2007 1:08 am

    The texture and color on the first avacado is wonderful.

  7. christeenswan permalink
    September 26, 2007 2:19 am

    I really should follow your good example and give a piece a couple of tried before I write it off. I like seeing your work, even when you’re less than thrilled with it! I thought that second painting looked great.

  8. September 26, 2007 5:09 am

    I really like the second one, especially the variety in texture between the avocado and apples. Very nice work!

  9. September 26, 2007 3:28 pm

    I can’t decide, both are gorgeous! BTW, I do hope you will get to Geneva sometime it would be so lovely to see you!

  10. September 27, 2007 11:40 am

    Fantastic Casey, the avacados are brilliant, great texture.

  11. September 27, 2007 3:07 pm

    I personally prefer the second (?) (the one at the bottom) because I like the negative space around the subject – the bit of breathing room that allows us to sit quietly and reflect – and the curl of the stem that leads the eye through the painting, but that just my personal preference. They both have excellent qualities and it’s obvious it was a good exercise. Bravo!

  12. September 29, 2007 12:20 pm

    I like the second one too – the hardest thing for me is to leave some white paper!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

