Skip to content

Learning Curve

September 20, 2007

I’ve been working on learning how to better use watercolors thanks to Kate Johnson’s watercolor class. I’m a chapter or two behind, but I’ve been working on flowers this week. After doing a few of the exercises, I began to try my hand using some roses and from my yard. The results were terrifyingly bad at first, but I’m slowly improving. Here they are, in order of their execution. One thing I’ve learned is that the quality of the paper is very important, and that practice may not make perfect, but it helps a lot.

Now I just have to do a few dozen more!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2007 2:26 pm

    I can see a deffinate improvement with each and every one Casey. The last two are especially beautiful and so loose too!

  2. September 20, 2007 3:05 pm

    Wow, Casey! They are fabulous!! I love the arrangement and perspective of the third one! Great work!

  3. September 20, 2007 4:01 pm

    Casey they are beautiful. I especially like the third one, that reflection of the glass on the surface is so cool.

  4. September 20, 2007 4:33 pm

    Beautiful work! Such deep colors. You’ve managed to maintain alot of your nice loose style and still paint distinct flowers.

  5. September 20, 2007 5:30 pm

    Wonderful, Casey! The last two are particularly beautiful. You should be thrilled. It’s a humbling experience, isn’t it – going back to school? I must say, you are way, way ahead of where I find myself. But we are both very determined blue crayons- we will get there, or die trying.

  6. caseytoussaint permalink*
    September 20, 2007 6:24 pm

    You are all so kind. I put the first two up because they were just so awful – especially the red rose in the second one which I kept touching and fiddling with – yuk!
    But it’s nice to see that if you keep at it, things do get better – 2 days ago I was ready to give up watercolor as a bad idea, and now I feel much better about it!

  7. September 20, 2007 7:08 pm

    Roses are amazingly difficult to paint convincingly. Yours are quite beautiful, and your progess in this class is wonderful!

  8. September 20, 2007 7:55 pm

    Beautiful work and great progress. Since even your initial tries are better than what I could do, I get to admire each and every one of yours! Glad to hear that you are finally pleased with your efforts.

  9. September 21, 2007 3:25 am

    You’ve done wonderful with your watercolors. I find flowers to be the most demanding … I think you’ve accomplished some nice florals.

  10. September 21, 2007 1:55 pm

    Casey, each and every one of those flowers are fabulous. So fresh, clean and uncluttered in their execution, and such lovely jewel-like colours. Love the simplicity of your lines and how it all flows.
    Felicitations!
    M-D

  11. September 21, 2007 6:13 pm

    Casey, what a wonderful display of roses!! WOW, you did a great job on each and every one.

  12. Meinhild permalink
    September 21, 2007 7:24 pm

    Amazing the progress your made.
    Bonne continuation!!!

  13. September 22, 2007 1:02 am

    Oh Casey! These are beautiful, especially the last couple of ones. They are so fresh and loose. All your hard work is showing. Really, the last two are very special.

  14. christeenswan permalink
    September 22, 2007 1:12 pm

    Oh my gosh, Casey, you’re not allowed to give up watercolors! *smiles* I’m glad you decided to press on- the progress in these is obvious! That third painting is just stunning- beautifully done!

  15. September 23, 2007 8:01 am

    I love all of these, Casey. I do think they become more confident as you go along. Although I also like the last two best, there is something really nice about the pink and yellow flowers in the second one (anemones?)

  16. September 23, 2007 5:18 pm

    This is beautiful. I love your art.

    sandy

  17. September 24, 2007 12:14 pm

    You are really progressing Casey. the third one is especially nice and I love the light touch on the cosmos(I think) in the second one as well as the dark rose in the second last imgae…well done!
    Ronell

  18. September 24, 2007 4:21 pm

    I too like the 3rd best. Compared to the last one: I like that it doesn’t look ‘perfect’, that the roses are a bit askew. There is more foliage and the colors in the foliage have subtle enough changes to make them interesting yet don’t take away from the focal point. It has your distinct ‘style’ to it! I do love the red rose in the last painting though! I wouldn’t hate doing florals as I do if I could paint like this! Sorry it’s taken so long for me to stop by, been so busy with work, life and trip preparations. Hoping we are still on for Paris!

  19. September 26, 2007 5:07 am

    Casey, these are masterpieces! I absolutely love them, especially #2 and #3. They are fantastic! I would absolutely frame them. The composition and light touch are terrific! I know what you mean about learning curve. If only my learning curve with oils was so good! (sorry for all the exclamation points–but I mean it…these are great!)

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

