Skip to content

The Wall Outside my Studio

September 9, 2007

We’re working on textures is Kate Johnson’s watercolor class. This is my homework for week 3. I sat at the door of my studio and drew the view. Those windows you see are from a really nice bed and breakfast called the Vieux Manoir. I recommend it as a place to stay – if you do, don’t forget to come next door and say hello!

This watercolor stuff is hard work, but little by little I’m making progress. I only wish I could keep up! The rest of the group is about to start week 5….

Update – Here’s another version, done in a style that’s more comfortable for  me (with line) :

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2007 5:37 pm

    wow! this is a watercolour? it is fabulous. At first glance, before reading your post, I thought it was in oil!

  2. September 9, 2007 11:30 pm

    Beautifully done! I also love your palette — such wonderful colors.

  3. September 10, 2007 4:57 pm

    You are a star, Casey. The texture of that stone wall is so good. I also love your usual style but you are making fantastic progress. I look forward to your posts.

  4. September 10, 2007 7:13 pm

    I’m going to be a poo and tell you I love YOUR unique style so much that I am just drawn to the second one. The colors are more vibrant in the 2nd. But I must agree with the others that the first is a fine example of texture which sometimes is so hard to render. Your stone ‘feels’ like stone!

  5. September 10, 2007 8:02 pm

    Casey, this blog entry is very interesting: The first painting is very well done, but not a typical “Casey Toussaint”. The second one is! Keep up learning, but don’t loose your typical “Casey”-Style we all love!
    Kind regards!

  6. September 11, 2007 5:33 am

    These are really wonderful. I especially like the second one. 🙂

  7. September 11, 2007 6:05 am

    Thanks for your comments everybody – I completely agree with the general consensus. I think the first painting is clumsy and boring, which is why I did another! I’m trying to learn more about really painting in watercolor, but i think drawing is what I do best.

  8. September 11, 2007 9:05 am

    These are great…the textures are really well rendered.

  9. September 11, 2007 1:39 pm

    Both are great but the second is lovely for it’s vibrancy and the “Casey style”! I prefer it to have lines too, no reason why you can’t combine all your loves!

  10. September 11, 2007 3:13 pm

    Casey, being a line person myself, I am loving the second version, and being jealous of the freedom in the first one………….

  11. September 12, 2007 1:52 am

    Great work again Casey. you did wonderful in the first one, of course I have to agree with everybody that it doesn’t have your typical signature…yet! But keep going, like everything you do, you will eventually find your niche in wc too, which will be just as unique as your line work!
    I enjoy watching your progress!
    Ronell

  12. September 12, 2007 11:09 am

    Terrific work on both, but I have to say I like the second, more “Casey” painting, too! By the way – I’ve given you a “Creative Blogger” award. You can read all about it over at my blog!

  13. September 12, 2007 5:49 pm

    You are so good with watercolours! I like all your paintings in this blog.

  14. September 12, 2007 9:19 pm

    I like both , but second one more !

  15. September 14, 2007 12:39 am

    I’m very interested to see both your versions done from life and compare them to those stone walls in my memory paintings, which are done entirely from memories of 40 years ago. You certainly have achieved beautiful texture and feel of the wall

  16. September 14, 2007 7:50 am

    I agree that the first one has the look of an oil painting somehow. I do like the texture of the stone wall, I think you’ve done it very well. The second one looks more relaxed and vibrant, and like everyone else I like it better for that! It’s really interesting to see them together.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

