Skip to content

On the Road Again

September 3, 2007

We were up in Normandy this weekend for a birthday party – 3 hours there, 3 hours back.  Not much time for drawing because I drove more than usual, but I did 2 quick sketches in the car and one from my brother-in-law’s balcony.

First, my handsome driver (he really is handsome, despite this drawing!):

Inspired by Nina Johansen , who is one of my role models, I tried to draw scenery as we whizzed by, but I really don’t know how she does it!  Here’s my effort :

And while we waited to go off to the restaurant, I had time to try a view of the Seine from my brother-in-law’s balcony :

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2007 11:21 am

    Casey,
    Fun sketches – I also tried to sketch from our car on our recent trip to New Hampshire and then 3 hours more to the Shelburne Museum. I don’t know how Nina does it except maybe a younger brain retains the image better until it gets on the paper. Why didn’t I think of sketching the driver? Brilliant!

  2. September 3, 2007 12:38 pm

    Casey, I think you did a fine job on all of it – including the scenery whizzing by. I tried this, too, on vacation, and while my sketches were really different than hers (or yours), I ended up liking the exercise a lot. I think Shirley might be right – some brains retain the image longer – but I also think you can teach your brain to retain it longer through practicing these things. At least I hope you can. Anyway, so lovely as usual.

  3. September 3, 2007 4:26 pm

    These are lovely! I don’t know how you can even attempt to draw scenery from the car.

  4. September 3, 2007 5:01 pm

    hahah! Drawing at many miles per hour is soooo hard. You’ve done a great job capturing the whizzing-by world. I love your loose portrait style in WC.

  5. September 4, 2007 2:08 pm

    I love that portrait – it’s so loose and expressive

  6. September 4, 2007 4:12 pm

    Yes he is handsome and very well captured, Casey. Brava for sketching from the car. I’ve never done that. Am going to try it from the train to Venice on Friday. You’ve inspired me.

  7. September 4, 2007 7:47 pm

    Great sketches Casey, all of them and yes, you did succeed in catching that handsome side of Michel! Nice scenery work too. hope you enjoyed the birthday?
    Ronell

  8. September 5, 2007 3:21 am

    you know i have a thing for portraits 😛 love this one. i cant even imagine trying to sketch from a moving car. wow!

  9. September 6, 2007 2:18 am

    a few comments: first of all; the man is gorgeous…oh yeah, the painting good too! next; sketchng from a moving car is difficult and you did a great job….’capturing’ he scene. I of course ‘cheat’ when in a moving car: I sketch my own idea of what I see as I’m passing by, I also put in things I saw miles back and create a scene and once I just looked straight ahead at the road while driving through the desert to Las Vegas, Nevada and drew what was in front of me! Younger brains! bah! ok, maybe Shirley is right…darn…

  10. September 8, 2007 11:51 am

    I love the fleeting quality of these.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

