Skip to content

A Faceless Lady

August 19, 2007

This was an exercise for watercolor class – textures with salt, spatter, and sponge. I include a reference photo because otherwise you’d never work out what I was trying to do. She’s a statue on the gates of Javon, the castle we stayed in in France. I worked hard on this, but found it a very difficult subject due to the lack of detail It was fun playing with all those techniques though.

Update : Here’s the same painting after I made the changes suggested by Kate :

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2007 6:37 pm

    salt, splatter and sponge all sound very mysterious and exciting. could you expand on how you made it?

  2. August 19, 2007 7:01 pm

    This is wonderful! Wow!

  3. August 19, 2007 7:51 pm

    Outstanding!! I like the way you did the background, too, it really coordinates with the aged statue. The techniques were just perfect for this subject. I can absolutely NOT imagine trying to paint something with details intentionally missing — you’ve outdone yourself!!!

  4. August 19, 2007 7:56 pm

    It’s miserable hot here and I’m too languid to even pick up a pencil…..so admiring my friend’s art is about all I’ll do today. This is very cool and I think you’ve mastered the technique. Tres bon!

  5. August 20, 2007 12:31 am

    Casey,
    What a fantastic job! I’d love to know how you managed to create such a varied surface. Was there any order for use of the 3 techniques? I assume the spatter was last – but did the salt application affect the next layer of paint?

  6. August 20, 2007 6:42 am

    Nice work! You captured the texture perfectly and she’s drawn beautifully as well.

  7. August 20, 2007 7:13 am

    You’ve done a great job with her. I love all those textures.

  8. caseytoussaint permalink*
    August 20, 2007 8:19 am

    Thank you guys! After a suggestion from Kate, I’m going to lighten up one side and try to darken the background. to answer your questions, Shirley and Ujwala – I’m using techniques ffrom Kate Johnson’s book, A Guide to Creating Textures in Watercolor

    For salt, you sprinkle salt on a still-damp wash, and it ads a grainy texture. Spattering is simply flaying color at the canvas with a stiff brush – to produce little droplets of color, or it can be done with water to make clear spots in the wash, and the last technique I used here was just dabbing wash on with a natural sponge – oddly I find this the hardest one to get right. I also tried spraying it with methylated spirits (called burning alcohol in French) which produces cool textures but doesn’t last long. I think I should have used rubbling alcohol instead.

  9. August 20, 2007 8:30 am

    I forgot to add that I loved it hence all the q’s. Thanks for the explanation. I’ve not tried anything like this before.

  10. Sandy permalink
    August 20, 2007 1:19 pm

    Fabulous as Always, you are so talented, Hope the house,/pool/garden/frig snaps into shape quickly – I will face all that next week when we return 🙂

  11. August 20, 2007 1:49 pm

    You’re doing great on this Casey…this staue is really beautifully done and it looks as though you are enjoying the whole process!
    ronell

  12. August 20, 2007 2:43 pm

    Good for you!!! I love your playful spirit. I think it takes great courage to work with these techniques and you’ve done a great job.

  13. Jan Z permalink
    August 21, 2007 10:53 am

    Very nice Casey! She is lovely. Great job with your spatter and sponge work.

  14. August 21, 2007 3:01 pm

    Just wonderfully done Casey. She has so much personality and love the texsture!

  15. August 22, 2007 11:51 am

    You’ve been so busy while I’ve been away. What a wonderful load of sketches. This painting is superb; the textures are so interesting, and the little patches of lichen really work well.

  16. September 3, 2007 3:34 am

    Excelent rendition, and a very inovative technique …. Almost sounds like a recipe! Merci pour une minute de nostalgie a la francaise.

  17. September 9, 2007 7:22 pm

    I appreciate the technique info. Your usual evocative work.

  18. Kathleen permalink
    September 16, 2007 12:59 pm

    just have to say that, for me, the before adjustment version is the more successful one. It conveys the real feeling of the statue better. Terrific job.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

