Skip to content

More Provence Sketches

August 15, 2007

Yesterday I forgot to post this drawing of a Renaissance door which was carried over the mountains from Italy, along with a window, to be added to the castle (see below)because in order for a structure to be considered a castle, there had to be a door and a window.

This year we had to be very careful to keep it closed because there is a dog living in one of the two small houses inside the castle walls who kept wandering in.

We spent a lot of time walking in the maquis around the castle – our friend Emmanuelle loves hiking and is always organizing an outing somewhere.

One day we went by this beautifully restored house in the middle of nowhere, with perfectly manicured lawn full of lavender. Rumor has it that English people live there.

Another day we went into the back country and had a picnic at this abandoned farm :

Every morning we’d drive 15 minutes into Sault, to buy bread and other groceries (tapenade!) and to check messages on our cell phones – there’s no coverage at Javon, although sometimes there would be on our hikes. Here are a couple of old storefronts in Sault:

And some days we’d visit some of the other beautiful towns in the area.

A shady street in Gordes :

A fountain in Apt (I added the water – it was actually dry, and it’s a bit wonky because I scribbled it quickly while walking by):

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2007 8:42 am

    Oh gosh Casey, these are just wonderful!!! The colors, the subjects, I love them all! I feel like I was there with you.

  2. watercolorsandmore permalink
    August 15, 2007 9:55 am

    Hi, these are wonderful line and wash material. I enjoyed them very much. Thanks

    Raghu

  3. August 15, 2007 10:47 am

    Brilliant Casey! just brill!

  4. August 15, 2007 1:18 pm

    What words of appreciation have I not said todate? The colours a wonderful, clear and pure and I love the confidence in your lines. Are you gong to develop any of these lovely scenes into paintings?

  5. August 15, 2007 2:48 pm

    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply. I am new to blogging, and I don’t know how to make others see my wordpress blog when I make a comment on someone’s post. So, here it is: watercolorsandmore.wordpress.com. Here you will find some of my work. I am a beginner and passionate about the medium. Hope to progress soon. Your comments and criticism will be much appreciated. By the way, I saw your work; they are fascinating. Thanks for sharing.
    Raghu

  6. August 15, 2007 5:26 pm

    Oh Casey, I love all of your Provence sketches. These are exactly the kinds of travels sketches that made me want to start drawing and learning how to use watercolors. Javon looks like an amazing place to stay! Would love to know more about it.

  7. August 16, 2007 12:00 am

    I second Shirley’s comments: They’re the kind of sketches that made me want to keep a sketchbook. (They’re not what I ended up doing, but that’s because I gravitate toward “tight.”) The colors are brilliant.

  8. August 20, 2007 1:45 pm

    wonderful sketches….the Renaissance door must be my favorite, but only beacuse I have a soft spot for old doors…beautiful work, you can feel so great about all of your work.
    Ronell

  9. August 24, 2007 1:16 pm

    Lots of loveley ones – I especially like the ‘shady street’.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

