Skip to content

A Week in Provence

August 14, 2007

We are just back from a wonderful week in Provence with a group of friends who rent a castle called Javon every year. It’s listed as 16th century, but actually had feudal beginnings, which are evident in the architecture. An article on internet tells me it was restored by the painter Vayson de Pradenne, whose grandson is the present owner. I can’t find any references to the painter, but his work is all over the chateau, and it’s awe-inspiring. It is thus with a red face that I humbly post my scribbles.

The main door :

sc00063801.jpg

a fountain in the courtyard (long dry, and it looks like it was used to fill an abreuvoir for the farm animals) :

sc00064d49.jpg

and a quick sketch of the fireplace in the dining room. I wish I’d done more sketches of the interior, but time passes so quickly when you’re on vacation!

Image075.jpg

Thanks to our friends Emmanuele and Jean-Louis for organizing this great holiday every year.

I did a few more sketches while we were out and about, and I’ll post them tomorrow.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2007 9:37 am

    the castle looks most exciting and your “scribbles” awesome 😀

  2. August 14, 2007 11:52 am

    Oh, Casey – these are fantastic! They made me feel like running off to Provence. I love your light, loose touch.

  3. August 14, 2007 12:06 pm

    Beautiful sketches! I really like them. Looks like a magical place for a vacation!

  4. August 14, 2007 1:30 pm

    You call them scribbles — there is nothing to be humble about. Those colors! I love the detail of the fireplace. Très chouette!

  5. August 14, 2007 2:24 pm

    I agree, there is nothing to be humble about, they are beautiful and really inspiring! It must have been a wonderful place.

  6. August 14, 2007 4:03 pm

    I love these! They are so colourful and well observed. Although they look loose and casual, the perspective and depth is brilliantly observed. I really like the double sketchbook format, especially used portrait for the fireplace. It’s really unusual and gives a sense of height in the room.

    Good to see you back!

  7. August 14, 2007 4:12 pm

    Absolutely beautiful. Yours colors are perfect for each scene. Also, it looks like Mittens has determined it’s the suitcase that causes you to leave him.

  8. August 14, 2007 7:41 pm

    I’m so glad you’re back. I look forward to more postings of your wonderful paintings!

  9. August 15, 2007 2:44 am

    welcome back Casey, beautiful drawings, the castles remind me of my home country not too far from Provence, especially of the castles in the northern part of Spain

  10. August 15, 2007 8:17 am

    Ah ma doué!! Mon dieu, que c’est magnifique!!! Les couleurs! la composition! Je suis si jalouse!!!
    Beautiful work and I’m really enjoying your drawings.
    MD

  11. August 15, 2007 1:14 pm

    Since everyone else has already pointed out that you have absolutely no need to be humble, I will just add my delight at all these wonderful watercolours. I particularly love the chateau and the clever framing of the interior fireplace. Wonderful sketches – you’ve really found your style and as I said, it’s delightful, Casey.

  12. August 16, 2007 2:55 am

    Welcome home! And what wonderful lively sketches. I love the door!!
    You must have had a wonderful time.

  13. August 20, 2007 1:42 pm

    Such wonderful sketches of Provence again Casey! Love them all!
    ronell

  14. September 2, 2007 12:05 am

    Your “scribbles” are beautiful! Wow, to spend a week in a castle… how cool. Lucky you! These are awesome.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

