Skip to content

Very early this morning…

June 28, 2007

sitting in a supermarket parking lot, waiting for the lycée across the street to open so my son Paul could go in and take the oral test for his French baccalauréat. To dispel my own tension I sketched while we listened to Led Zeppelin turned up loud. The cleaning ladies from the supermarket came out and moved all the caddies so they could sweep underneath them (!), but then they went inside, there was nothing happening, so I sketched an old car parked near us.

And here’s the man himself, yesterday, trying to understand Rimbaud’s Le Bateau Ivre, like so many before him. This is a terrible sketch of him – I had some foreshortening issues as you can see, but it does convey the stress!

Aah! Good luck, Paul – or merde as they say here…

P.S. I’m off to the States for a few weeks, and not sure I’ll be able to post. I’ll be looking at everyone’s blogs though!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2007 7:37 am

    Oh dear, I hope the exam went well. I’m sure a good dose of Led Zep will have worked wonders! Have a good trip, I hope you’ll be sketching while you’re away.

  2. June 28, 2007 9:42 am

    These are full of life as always. Yes, you have captured that tension in Paul. Fingers crossed for him.

    Have a good trip – I’ll miss your sketches.

  3. caseytoussaint permalink*
    June 28, 2007 10:39 am

    He called to say it didn’t go too badly – he was at least able to keep talking for 10 minutes. You’re right, Dave – the Led Zeppelin must have done the trick! Thank you both for the good wishes.

  4. June 28, 2007 1:24 pm

    Casey, I hope all goes well. Will you tell us?
    Drawing is soooooo soothing but sometimes for me, the tension can’t be dispelled no matter what. Good for you for drawing your way thorugh the jitters.
    I’m totally CRAZY about your collage/drawing from last summer. Its so beautiful, loose and lively. The castle does sound romantic (but I guess the reality can be a bit daunting. It is old and probably not full of amenities)

  5. June 29, 2007 5:10 am

    These are great sketches. 🙂 I had read what you wrote wrong, I thought it said “…but it does RELIEVE the stress!” Heheh. The drawing does convey the boy’s stress, but as I thought it said, sketching does relieve stress, doesn’t it? 🙂

  6. June 29, 2007 5:46 pm

    The little car is gorgeous; the stressed out son, much loved, I’m sure, and he’ll be fine. Now I’m looking forward to more travel sketches!

  7. June 29, 2007 6:43 pm

    Good luck to your son. I know he’ll be glad (and so will you) when it’s all over.
    Your sketches give a wonderful look into your life.

  8. June 29, 2007 10:36 pm

    I love these sketches–they look so French! Best of luck to your son and bon voyage on your journey to the states. Where will you be? If you’re going to be anywhere near SF, please let me know–it would be such fun to meet.

  9. June 30, 2007 2:56 am

    Great sketches Casey! Best to your son.

  10. June 30, 2007 11:16 pm

    I thought that ‘merde’ was french for ‘shit’?

  11. June 30, 2007 11:16 pm

    ;-p

  12. caseytoussaint permalink*
    July 2, 2007 5:52 pm

    Thanks everyone. The news should be out today. but he forgot his immatriculation number. Nathalie, the French consider ‘merde’ to be good luck, especially when you step in it with your left foot, but it’s bad luck to say “good luck.”

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

